16
May
12

brachial plexus.

I feel like I have to blog about this topic because it weighs on me constantly. And as much as I try to push it out of my head, I’m reminded of it all too frequently.

During my labor with Jolie, I damaged my right brachial plexus which is a very important network of nerves. The brachial plexus runs from your spine under your collar bone and is responsible for the nerves that power your arm. Somehow, by some freak of nature, I managed to stretch mine during labor. The result is that I can’t move my right arm. I can bend it at the elbow, but can’t lift it up or out to the side. And now the muscles have atrophied. It is very uncommon to suffer this kind of injury during labor and thus it took a really long time to diagnose the problem. Most people who suffer brachial plexus injuries are in car accidents or have suffered football injuries. The good news is that it looks like the nerves are regenerating. The bad news is that it will take more than a year for me to regain full mobility. It’s already been 5 months and I’m not even close to being fully rehabbed despite hours of physical therapy, massage, chiropractor, acupuncture and neurology appointments.

As you can imagine, this has made life a little difficult. And even more than the physical limitations, it’s depressing. Anyone who has had to complete physical therapy exercises can relate that it’s hard to make time for them and it’s hard to stay motivated. The progress is extremely slow and the injury can be pretty painful at times.

When I start to feel sorry for myself, I try to remind myself that it could be way worse. And all signs are pointing to an eventual recovery. In the meantime, I just try to stay positive and keep focused.

Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

