04
May
12

i’m back.

After much internal debate, I’ve decided to continue to blog. Even though I’m really short on time (and sleep) these days, it seems worth it. I love having a record of my life. Being able to look back and reflect on all the good times.  That being said, it’s a little daunting now that so much time has passed. How do I possibly sum up the last 5 months?!?  Where do I start?

I guess I’ll just jump right in. On December 16th, we had a baby! Her name is Jolie and I absolutely adore her. I’m brimming with love and beaming with pride. The story of her birth is something that I want to record and share, but it’s long and emotional and deserves its own post. I was lucky enough to spend 16 weeks off work with her and I have just recently returned to work. I’m not going to lie – it’s been hard. Part of me is happy to rejoin a world where showers are a daily occurrence and there is activity to stimulate my brain. The other part of me is aching for Jolie. I’m afraid that I’m missing out. Scared that I won’t be the one that she seeks out when she needs comforting. Terrified that someday I may regret the decision to work.  I feel like I’m trying to do a million things and I’m not doing anything well. I could go on and on about this club that I’ve joined – the working mom club. It’s a club that you cannot relate to until you’ve joined.

One thing that has made it easier to return to work is that my  husband is taking 8 weeks off to stay home with the boot. It’s been a much easier transition for me than if we were already taking her daycare. And she LOVES being at home with her dad. But daycare D-day is quickly approaching and is looming in the back of my head. The good news is that Jolie will only be going to daycare 3 days a week and we feel really comfortable and very excited about our daycare situation. I couldn’t be more pleased with the daycare itself – I think it’s going to be perfect.

Over and out for now. It’s good to be back.

0 Responses to “i’m back.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

