12
Dec
10

honeymoon – central greece.

Here is the next batch of photos from our honeymoon. After Athens, we rented a car and drove into central Greece for a few days. We visited Meteora (Kastraki) and Delphi. I didn’t really know what to expect in central Greece, but I’m so happy we made the drive out there. It was well worth it. Meteora is a series of monasteries built on sheer sandstone pillars. It was one of the most amazing things I’ve ever seen; I felt like I was in a fairy tale. Monks and Nuns still occupy and worship in these monasteries that are secluded from modern civilization. If you ever get a chance to see Meteora, I absolutely recommend it. The pictures just don’t do it justice.

After that we drove to Delphi – the holiest place on earth for Ancient Greeks. It’s such a stunning mountainous setting overlooking the Gulf of Corinth, there is no wonder why the Ancient Greeks were so enthralled with it. It’s the site of the Sanctuary of Athena, the Sanctuary of Apollo, the place where the oracle sat and where Zeus released his two eagles. For some reason, we don’t have very many photos, but the last photo in this post is the theater.

3 Responses to “honeymoon – central greece.”


  1. 1 SM
    December 16, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    I think Meteora & Delphi are two of the most spiritual places in the world. Stunning, too!

  2. 2 vicki
    December 21, 2010 at 4:15 am

    wow wow wow. I’m kind of scared of overseas travel, but those pictures are enough to make me change my mind. Those buildings look like they are carved right out of the rock. Amazing. Thanks for sharing. wow.


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

