30
Sep
10

where did it go?

There is a distinct point in everyone’s life where you realize they were right. You never thought the day would come. Up until this point, you didn’t understand. You couldn’t relate. When the topic arose, you’d smile and nod in agreement, but not really comprehend the concept. Despite all logic and your brain telling you it would, you never ACTUALLY thought it would happen to you. It’s what happens to other people.

And then it does and you realize they were right. All of the sudden, you get it. It hits you like a ton of bricks. Time DOES fly by. It DOES feel like only yesterday. And I’m no spring chicken.

My moment of realization came last week as I was getting ready for my 10 year high school reunion and it about knocked the flat iron right out of my little hands. It seems impossible that I’ve been out of high school for a decade. How is this happening? Girlfriends, boyfriends, prom, volleyball, powder-puff football, lacrosse, dances, slumber parties, drivers licenses and generally feeling like an invincible bad-ass. It feels like it was only a couple years ago, but not TEN. Ten years is a long time. It’s not necessarily that I’m saying I’m old or that I don’t want to get old. It’s that I’ve had the realization that I WILL get old and that I’m on my way. It’s kind of sad and disappointing. I imagine this is how I felt when I learned about Santa. Although given the fact that I don’t remember that, I’d say this is worse.

2 Responses to “where did it go?”


  1. 1 Janelle
    October 1, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    I loved high school. I think we really lived it up and had a ton of fun! I know it’s 10 years later, but I still don’t feel like I’ve even had the chance to do anything…to even start to show the world what I’m made of. When you just say 10 years, it feels like forever. But when you compare it to life and think of how much you’ve done since then, it feels more like 10 minutes.

  2. 2 sara
    October 4, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    I couldn’t agree more. I’ve fixated on the time flying thing for the last few months – feeling so sad about it. Can life just slow down a little bit?? All the more reason to appreciate every single day and keep priorities straight.


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

