29
Dec
09

the most annoying thing ever.

Remember the vacuum cleaners of the 80s? You know, the ones with the retractable cords? They whipped the cords around with such force that you were scared the plug-in would hit you in the face and give you a black eye? Well, somewhere along the evolution of the vacuum cleaner, the retractable cords became obsolete. Why? They were brilliant. In fact, I’d like to see ALL electronics switch to retractable cords (blow dryers, curling irons, coffee pots, alarm clocks, etc). Cords are the bane of my existence. I hate them and they are everywhere. They get tangled, collect dust and look messy. Why do I have to look at them? Why can’t the excess cord be stored within the device? BRING BACK THE RETRACTABLE CORD (or develop a technology that eliminates cords all together)!  On a side note, did everyone else know that vacuum was spelled with two “u”s? How can I be this old and not know how to spell vacuum? I would have bet my life that it was spelled vacume. Oh well.

5 Responses to “the most annoying thing ever.”


  1. 1 Mary B
    December 30, 2009 at 6:49 am

    DUDE. IPods. I was honestly lamenting this morning that my iPod should have retractable earphones!! The excess cord gets caught on things, causing my iPod to clatter to the ground. Anyway, WORD on this post, I hate dealing with cords around the house.

  2. 2 KS
    December 30, 2009 at 8:24 am

    to MaryB’s IPod debacle…last night at the gym, I actually was left with no other option than to wrap the excess cord around my IPod Nano and stick it in my sport bra to keep it in place… YUCK! It’s probably going to short circuit now from so much boob sweat 😀

  3. 3 SM
    December 30, 2009 at 8:43 am

    Mary B – I hear ya with the Ipod. When I wear it as I am cleaning house the one thing that ALWAYS gets me is the knobs on our cabinets. The cord hooks on the knobs and then the earphones rip out of my ears. Sometimes my nano falls off onto the floor. UGH. Even when I put the cord under my shirt, it still hangs out the bottom and gets stuck on things.
    And KB, I knew vacuum has two Us. But I highly doubt you were the lone person spelling it ume. It is a very odd word.

  4. 4 sara
    January 1, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    Amen sister! Cords are the worst. Worst I say!! I found this awesome thing at Ikea to help deal with the cord madness that occurs under our desk. It’s a basket-type thing that screws into the underside of the desk. All of the cords sit in it. I love it. But I would much rather have no cords at all.

  5. 5 Halie
    January 6, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    I own a blow dryer with a retractable cord and I love it! Got it at Target recently. It does exist, I promise!


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

