10
Dec
09

xmas music.

There are a lot of things that the younger generation has mastered, but Xmas music is NOT one of them. Case and point. Today on my way to work I heard a Christmas song that made me cringe.

Chorus

I’d rather be hangin alone
Than makin out with Emma Stone
Yeah Id rather get a subpoena
Than kick it with Angelina
Yeah I’ll probably shed a few tears
If you mess up and send Britney Spears
So Santa for my gift, please send me Taylor Swift

This is a Christmas song?!?!  Give me a break. Turns out it’s called “Merry Swiftmas” by Evan Taubenfeld (whoever that is). Sorry Evan, it sucks and unfortunately there is a lot of competition in this arena. Frank Sinatra, Judy Garland, Bing Crosby, Nat King Cole, Ella Fitzgerald, etc. I wish all the crappy new Christmas music created in the last decade would go away. I’ll take the classics.

3 Responses to “xmas music.”


  1. December 12, 2009 at 1:37 am

    what a brilliant thought

    Great post on the subject. Rock music punk music – all the great stuff comes from bands who kick against the status quo.

    Andras session guitarist and rock guitarist

  2. December 12, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Can I hear an “Amen” for the sister!?

  3. 3 sara
    December 14, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    i’m gonna sound like such an old lady, but i’d say this is true for so much of the music from the last 10 years. they don’t make ’em like they used to.


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

