02
Dec
09

guest blogger: what do you have to share?

I recently came across a study which indicated Seattle ranked #7 out of 273 US cities for online charitable giving in 2008. This made me smile as I love to hear and pass on great things about Seattle. We don’t fare as well in overall, offline generosity/donations, but I prefer to focus on the positive news. This got me thinking about the whole idea of giving and receiving, a timely topic for December. The studies I looked at measured charitable giving in terms of dollars donated to organizations, certainly important and necessary for the many in need right now and something I completely support. The studies didn’t measure the invaluable, individual act of doing. Doing for others may involve money, but more importantly includes the giving of our time, putting thought into it; planning it out, thinking about it, caring. In other words it requires more than writing the check. As a way to offer each other some ideas and share the untold value of an act of kindness, I’m wondering if any of you have a story about a good deed done for you or for someone you know that has stuck with you. Your story may plant an idea that we could do for another person. Think of it as a way to spread the giving. The key may not be the size of the deed, but the amount of care that went into it and the joy it brought to the recipient.

1 Response to “guest blogger: what do you have to share?”


  1. 1 KS
    December 4, 2009 at 7:33 am

    I think this was a really thoughtful post, especially for this time of year. A couple of Thanksgivings ago I was in the grocery store and the woman ahead of me had just finished paying for her 12 bags of groceries when the checker realized there was still a package of cream cheese
    laying on the conveyor belt. The woman decided she didn’t want to get in line again, or hold up the line to pay so I asked the checker to ring it up with my purchase, and handed the cream cheese to the woman. She looked stunned.

    Thanks for reminding everyone to pay it forward!


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

