14
Sep
09

adversity.

Don’t get me wrong, I like football as much as the next gal. In fact, I’m very excited for the upcoming season. However, I do have one complaint; the overuse of the word “adversity”. I would like the football community to learn a new word.  Yesterday I was watching football and in a 3 hour period I heard the word at least 15 times. “This team has faced a lot of adversity in the past.” “Player X has overcome adversity in this game.”  It’s borderline embarrassing because it seems to be the only “grown-up” word this community knows and they’ve ALL latched onto it. Players, commentators, coaches and analysts alike. Pay attention and it will start to drive you crazy.

Hardship. Difficulty. Misfortune. Pick one.

5 Responses to “adversity.”


  1. 1 kb
    September 14, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    To prove my point further, I just googled “football” and “adversity” under news. These were the top results. OMG – seriously people. A new word. Try it.

    San Francisco Chronicle – Janie McCauley – ‎6 hours ago‎
    But it was beautiful to see our guys continue to fight, persevere, work through the adversity, work through the issues, work through the noise, work through …

    ESPN – Heather Dinich – ‎Sep 13, 2009‎
    “We might have to work a little harder than we did the past two weeks,” he said, “but that’s what BC football is all about — overcoming adversity and …

    Lionsfans.com (subscription) – Mike Mady – ‎16 hours ago‎
    You will experience adversity. Fans will boo your mistakes; they will question your status as the starting quarterback and possibly the decision to make you …

    SD Bolt Report – Michael Lombardo – ‎Sep 13, 2009‎
    Antonio Cromartie — The knock on the Raiders is they don’t respond well to adversity, so there’s nothing the Chargers would like to see more than a …

    Cincinnati.com – Mike Sullivan – ‎Sep 13, 2009‎
    “We need to react to adversity a little better and execute a lot better too,” Stephens said. Given a chance to dissect being outscored 90-0 over the first …

    Brookfield Elm Grove Now – ‎11 hours ago‎
    “When we have adversity we’ve got to respond. We weren’t able to respond on either side of the ball. We weren’t able to get first downs or stop them from …

    Bleacher Report – ‎12 hours ago‎
    Those two teams could be on a collision course to Pasadena, but how they respond to adversity playing a tough opponent will tell us more about these teams .

    The Gamecock – James Kratch – ‎Sep 13, 2009‎
    This week was almost worse, but the league weathered the adversity. Maryland and Florida State both appeared to be en route to two more embarrassing FCS …

  2. September 15, 2009 at 6:52 am

    Remember Mr. Driscoll? He’d be so proud that you backed up your writing with substantiation. We overcame much adversity in that class… 🙂 Seriously, I’m irritated and I’ve only just read the snippets you posted. Come on guys, find a thesaurus!!

  3. 3 Stan
    September 16, 2009 at 8:35 am

    What I hate about football the most is that stupit robot! It does the same jump up and down, stretching, blah blah blah…it actually ruins football day for me! At least this year they added him jump roping…still sucks though.

  4. 4 Stacy
    September 18, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    Stan, jumping rope was around last year, too. Sorry to add to your disdain for him.

    And speaking of football vocabulary, I just about died the other day when a commentator used a word I didn’t recognize. I told Andre, “wow! I’m going to have to look that one up!” Then about a minute later they used the word again. At that point I realized, uh, it was a player’s name. Certainly didn’t sound like a name to me! And they way they used his name in the sentence was as if they the player was a tool or a play.. I tried to rationalize my stupidity. I laughed pretty hard at myself for that one.

  5. September 19, 2009 at 9:43 am

    Okay-I actually don’t enjoy football so have been spared the over-use of the word “adversity” surrounding that topic. But because I enjoy the subject of beating something into the ground I feel compelled to add my over-used word or phrase of the day. How about how everyone and everything “moving forward”. “Okay, people, let’s move forward”, “moving forward from this point”, let’s keep things “moving forward”, we’re “moving forward” toward our goals… man-oh-man-oh, when we pick a phrase we like we use it to death!


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

