18
Aug
09

3.86 million users.

Considering my last post, this feels really weird to write about, but I’m so appalled I have to. Have you heard of AshleyMadison.com? I had heard about it, but last week while I was traveling in Alaska I actually saw a commercial. You can view it herehere’s another one.

Essentially this company has capitalized on infidelity. AshleyMadison is a website that connects married people if they want to have an affair anonymously.  It’s a match.com for married people and they have 3.86 million users. This concept bothers me on so many levels.

I find it disgusting that someone is making money off this – although I have to say, I place more blame on the users than the website owner himself. These people would be having affairs regardless if this site existed. That being said, I’m not sure how this guy (the owner) lives with himself. He claims to have a healthy marriage. I hope his wife is an active member of his site – anonymously.

The whole thing is so premeditated. For some reason, I always assume affairs are accidents. Someone grows apart in their marriage and falls in love with someone else. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not condoning it when it happens that way; it just seems more realistic to me. But with Ashleymadison 3.86 million people sign-up. Login. Seek out others. And then meet them.  Unreal.

I guess the part that mystifies me the most is why these people don’t get a divorce. If you are SO unhappy in your relationship, just end it. And then you can date and sleep around as much as you want.  Ashleymadison’s tagline is “Life is short. Have an affair.” How about, “Life is short. Take control of your life and stop being such a coward.” The whole thing makes my skin crawl.

5 Responses to “3.86 million users.”


  1. 1 des
    August 20, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    I am disgusted at this, the things people do!
    I have said it before and I will say it again, I love your blog. Totally entertaining!

  2. August 20, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    There is no word quite icky enough to cover how I feel about this. It makes me mad, repulses me, and in the end maybe makes me just very, very sad. You are so right– that’s a lot of lazy cowards. They have a total lack of respect for their spouse, and themselves, and will never know the consummate joy in total fidelity and trust.
    There was a song a while back that gave me a mini-version of this feeling, and everyone thought it was great! It had a kind of calypso beatIt was something about a guy writing an anonymous ad, behind “his ladies” back, seeking a new love. He makes arrangements to meet his new love, and SURPRISE! His ‘new love’ is none other than his old love, and they laugh and laugh. REALLY? That means he’s a cheater, and she’s a cheater too. And that’s funny? Gag.

  3. 3 Sara
    August 21, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    I hear ads on the radio for this site all the time and it angers me to no end. I usually change the station or turn off the radio. It’s totally gross.

  4. 4 Shelby
    August 21, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    EWWWW! I haven’t heard of this site and I kind of wish I didn’t. Seriously, people, grow up!! I can’t believe women actually want to sign up and take part in destroying someone’s marriage.

    This is the exact reason I hate Las Vegas. Their ads basically tell you to come there and cheat on your spouse because what happens in vegas, stays in vegas. hello?! this is not cool.

    and to be reading about this on my 5th wedding anniversary really pisses me off! ha!

    xo

  5. October 12, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    I found a novel way to estimate the ratio of men to women on the AshleyMadison site. It’s 10.1 to 1. See full city-by-city analysis at http://www.exploringtheerotic.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

