16
Aug
09

announcement.

I have a very exciting announcement. This weekend, the man of my dreams proposed! Yes, that’s right, after 8+ years we are engaged.

Here is how it went down. Derek and I were in Alaska last week and one night we stayed at the Alyeska Resort. It’s a beautiful property and we were very excited to be staying there. Unfortunately, I had a cold, but I was doing my best to ignore it. As we were getting ready for dinner, I started noticing that Derek was acting a little strange. I couldn’t pin-point it at the time, but he was really anxious. All the sudden, it just popped into my head. Omg, he’s going to propose. My realization was then followed by 20 minutes of inner-conflict. Don’t be ridiculous. He’s not going to propose.  Don’t be that girl. You are going to get your hopes up and then be really disappointed when it doesn’t happen. And you’ll ruin a lovely evening. Just stop Kindra. And so, I successfully pushed the thought out of my head.

The Alyeska Resort is a ski resort and the restaurant (called Seven Glaciers) is located on top of the mountain. To reach the restaurant, you take a gondola from the hotel up the mountain. The setting is absolutely beautiful – you can see seven glaciers from the top! It’s very romantic. We had a wonderful dinner. Delicious. I ordered the tasting menu, which was really fun! Derek ordered the King Crab legs (which he barely touched – very uncharacteristic). In retrospect, I should have clued in at this point, but like I said, I had pushed it completely out of my mind.

After dinner was completed, he finally worked up the nerve. Time went very slowly for a few minutes. He set the ring on the table, teared-up and asked me to marry him. Short, sweet, sincere. Perfect.

9 Responses to “announcement.”


  1. August 16, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    I’ve just started reading your blog and I thought should de-lurk and say hello! And congratulations! That really does sound like a lovely proposal.

  2. August 16, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    oooooh, thanks for sharing that sweet moment in your life. I am so happy for you. 🙂

  3. 3 big mama
    August 17, 2009 at 5:30 am

    Yay!! We couldn’t be happier!

  4. 4 Michelle
    August 17, 2009 at 7:00 am

    Kindra, congratulations! I’m so happy for you!

  5. 5 Meredith
    August 17, 2009 at 7:45 am

    Kindra!!!! Congratulations. I’m so happy for the both of you!

  6. 6 Halie
    August 17, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Congratulations!! I am SO happy for you an Derek!!

  7. 7 Sandy Griffin
    August 17, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    Congratualtions!!!! We are so excited for you.

    The Griffins

  8. 8 MK
    August 22, 2009 at 11:48 am

    How romantic! Congratulations!

  9. 9 Kirby
    August 27, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    WOW!!! I love this story. I love how simple and sweet it was. Yet so much anticipation!!! You guys will be great. It’s about time. Congrats!!


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

