15
Jul
09

something’s gotta give.

After 27 years of living, you’d think I’d be used to the 24 hours that occur every day. And yet, I’m not. I constantly feel like there is too much to do, and not enough time. I keep waiting for the days to get longer, but they never do. In a perfect world, I’d have more time to workout, read, relax, blog, cook, have sex, garden, shop, clean, nap, volunteer and organize – in no particular order.  I’d be the best employee ever, I’d learn to scrapbook, have our Thailand trip planned, and I’d be able to spend quality time with all of my family and each of my friends.  I would write more personal notes and mail them. I’d make thoughtful, home-made birthday gifts and I’d prepare crazy-romantic dinners. I’d finally study for the gmat and I’d learn to play the piano beautifully…with time left to watch all my Netflix and become proficient in Adobe Premiere Pro. I’d write that novel that’s stashed away in my nightstand – in fact, I’d write two. I’d go for more bike rides and play bocce ball more often. I’d host more dinners and throw parties. I would make more time for picnics, star-gazing and internet surfing. I’d always get my oil changed on time. And then I’d get a good 8 hours of sleep.

Sometimes I feel like I’m going through life half-ass. Trying to accomplish a lot, and instead not doing anything well. It’s kind of a helpless, sinking feeling.  Something’s gotta give.

3 Responses to “something’s gotta give.”


  1. 1 kb
    July 15, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    Oh, and the worst part is that I don’t even have kids yet! How will I possibly manage when I finally DO have kids?!?!

  2. July 16, 2009 at 6:25 am

    I was going to add the part about the kiddos but you already noted it! 🙂 Kindra, it’s so easy to get caught up in all the things you could do if you had time, but instead try to focus on all the thing that you DO do in a day! I am amazed at all you have accomplished so far in your life! Those things that you listed, they will come with time. There will come a point that they become priorities and you will FIND time for them. Just like wanting to lose weight or finally get that book you’ve been wanting. It might take longer than you thought but ultimately what you want most in life will happen if you continue to make it a priority on your long term ‘to-do’ list. 🙂

  3. 3 Shelby
    July 18, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    I hear ya! I feel that that every day and sometimes the thought is overwhelming. Jenna, above, makes great points! You have done amazing things and there is plenty of time (like another 65 + years) to get everything done! Aaron and I wrote a list back a few months of everything we wanted to do this year including trips, money, entertaining, events, etc. I put the list somewhere and forgot about it. the other day, I pulled it out, and low and behold, we have already checked quite a few things off the list! It felt so good! It reminded me that over time, we get to do the things we want. Sure, we may not be able to do them all at once but if you try to fit a little bit in here or there, you’ll get to experience it all.

    Enjoy! You live a fabulous and exciting life (trust me, I know, cuz I’m the one at home with a 2 year old).


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

