12
Jul
09

deer park.

WOW! It’s been a long time since I posted last – sorry! I hate it when I go to my blogroll and nobody has updated their blogs. It’s such a let-down. I’ll try to be better.

This weekend we went to arguably the most amazing spot in Washington. I’m having an internal battle right now with myself on whether or not I should say where we were. Part of me wants to spread the word, and part of me really wants to be selfish and keep it to myself. It’s so beautiful I don’t want it to be spoiled by too many people. Ok, here it goes (hopefully the pit toilets, limited number of campsites and scary dirt road up the mountain will keep everyone away). Drum roll please….this weekend we to Deer Park. There, I said it.

Deer Park sits in the Olympic National Park and boasts some of the most spectacular views I’ve ever seen – they truly take your breath away. We camped there for three nights with two friends and had a great time: the weather was great, beautiful scenery, lots of laughs and catching up, hot coffee (ohnie ‘n ‘da mownin’), icy cocktails in the afternoon, too much food and a thunder/lightning storm from a tent. It doesn’t get much better than that (Ok, I could have done without the mosquitoes. I absorbed and ingested so much deet I’m nervous I may no longer be able to have children)! Here are a few photos from our adventure.

DSC_0927_stitch copy

DSC_1003 DSC_0867

DSC_0960

DSC_0955

2 Responses to “deer park.”


  1. July 13, 2009 at 6:02 am

    We drove up there last summer for the first time. The road isn’t for the faint of heart, but the views are definitely incredible! We built a B&B inn (www.GeorgeWashingtonInn.com) that’s a replica of George Washington’s home, Mount Vernon, and were able to see it directly north of Deer Park’s viewing area along the Strait of Juan de Fuca. Thanks for sharing your beautiful pictures.

  2. 2 sara
    July 14, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    I miss it already. It was an unforgettable weekend. You and Derek continue to take us to the most beautiful places in the world. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

