05
Jul
09

cowboys.

I never thought I’d say it, but I’m kind of into cowboys and western stuff at the moment.  Let me explain.

I’ve been reading Lonesome Dove by Larry Mcmurtry – and I can’t put it down. The novel is jam-packed full of courageous cowboys, ruthless Indians, horse thieves, romance, suspense, good, evil…you name it. And the names of the characters are so great (Jake Spoon, Pea Eye Parker, Dishwater Boggett, Po Campo, Soupy Jones, Needle Nelson). Never in a million years would I have predicted that I’d be relishing a western novel. But I’m hooked.

THEN this weekend while we were at the lake house, a huge group of us drove up to an old western town called Chesaw and partied with the cowboys at the Chesaw Tavern. I’m not even kidding; it was so much fun. Cowboys, rodeo, cattle, horses, spurs, boots, hats…I saw it all. Yee-haw Chesaw (they really say that there)!

I’m going to have to wrap up this post quickly so I can get back to my book. I’m not entirely sure if it’s the genre I’m enjoying or the writing/rich characters. Why I reckon it’s the latter, but I’m much obliged either way! 🙂

4 Responses to “cowboys.”


  1. 1 writrsblok
    July 5, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    yeeeeha…..

  2. 2 Stan
    July 7, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    It is one of my favorite books!!! I highly recommend it to everyone! It is quite long, which makes it a bit intimidating, but it is an easy read for all levels.

  3. 3 Derek
    July 8, 2009 at 7:59 am

    I can’t believe you’re saying this after witnessing one of them man-handle me on Friday. Personally, I think the majority of cowboys are assholes trying to live in an era that’s long gone. I’ll quote one of them in from that night in Chesaw, “fuck da damn gov’ment. I hate Obama, I din’t much care for Bush and I don’t like what thur up to. I’m off the radar now. Up here in Chesaw, I don’t own a TV, radio, nothin’. Oun’t need any of that horseshit.”

    Now, know that doesn’t sound too insane, but keep in mind I didn’t even say anything to him. I just ordered a beer and stood at the bar and he looks over at me and starts saying that. Dude had a cowboy hat and boots with the spurs.

    The other story is when I got man-handled later that night after being accused of trying to steal a cowboy’s lady. I know it’s tough to believe, because there were some mighty fine looking ladies in this town with a population of 400, but I honestly wasn’t trying to steal his lady.

  4. 4 megthewriter
    July 10, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    Have you gone to Cheyenne Frontier Days (The Daddy of ’em All)? Biggest outdoor rodeo in the USA. I have a blog about it with photos. Check it out if you need a cowboy fix…
    http://www.meganoteri.wordpress.com
    I like your blog and the 99 things about you – clever!
    Megan


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

