30
Jun
09

legacy.

All this talk about Michael Jackson has got me thinking. He was an undisputed musical genius, an icon. He revolutionized pop and his music was the soundtrack of my childhood. However, there is no doubt in my mind that he liked little boys and had inappropriate relationships with a few. And yet nobody really ever talks about it; his contributions to society seem to overshadow his offenses. Why do some people get this luxury while others don’t?  If the pope was charged with child molestation, would the public be so quick to absolve him? What about Obama? Both have made sizable contributions to society, but somehow I suspect they would be condemned. And OJ Simpson was found innocent of murder, and yet the public has not been quick to forgive him. Can someone’s legacy outshine their alleged faults?

In my opinion, part of it was because Michael Jackson became so pathetic; he was obviously a lost soul and everyone felt bad for him.  He had so much talent and he let his craziness get in the way of a long and prosperous career. Similar to Whitney Huston.  Bobbbeeeey!!! 🙂

2 Responses to “legacy.”


  1. July 1, 2009 at 6:40 am

    I ponder this also, Kindra. I think you are right about society really feeling like Michael Jackson was a victim as well as a predator in his life. He fell like so many other child stars did and still do. But that certainly doesn’t excuse his actions in my book…Just like Obama and the Pope and other famous people – I sort of feel like being responsible and upstanding is the price you pay for your fame. Too bad we don’t see more of this with today’s rising celebrities and people of power. This can also be spread to all the recent (within the last 10-15 years or so) reports and apologies given by public officials for their affairs on their wives. My cousins and I had a fairly in-depth conversation about that this weekend and couldn’t agree on where their public lives ended and where their private lives began. Definitely things to think about…thanks for writing on it!

    On a more random note – the title of your post instantly reminded me of your mama’s old car and junior high crushes! 😛

  2. 2 kb
    July 1, 2009 at 8:57 am

    OMG!!! Too funny!! I forgot about that guy.


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

