23
Jun
09

skip the shortcuts.

On Sunday, we crossed over to Bainbridge to meet King for Father’s Day (King is Derek’s dad; we call him King – I’m not exactly sure why but he’s been King since I’ve known him). In the car, King told us a funny story.

He had been out kayaking in the bay for hours. Upon his return, he walked into the house and was immediately hit with a NASTY smell. I’m talking a stop-you-in-your-tracks kind of smell. It didn’t take long before he realized it was coming from the trash compactor. He proceeds to tell us that instead of taking out the garbage he squirted a few sprays of his cologne in the garbage. GROSS GROSS GROSS!! I can’t believe he thought this was a good idea! As you can imagine, this did not work and it only made it smell worse.  If your garbage stinks, take it out. Trying to make it smell better is a waste of time.

Although I don’t really think his motive was laziness (I think it had more to do with the cost of the trash compactor bags which is another post entirely), it made me reflect on my own actions. Trust me, there have been plenty of times where I’ve tried to take a shortcut or the easy way….and it never seems to pay off. Despite my patience problem (and my inclination towards instant gratification), I’ve learned that it usually takes less time to do it right the first time.

2 Responses to “skip the shortcuts.”


  1. 1 KS
    June 24, 2009 at 6:50 am

    his stories are always soo funny (bizarre). 😀

  2. July 5, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    This is sorta-kinda like rushing to get something done quickly, inevitably messing it up so that it needs to be done again; hence causing my husband to remind me, “If you don’t have time to do it right once you probably don’t have time to do it twice.” yeah, yeah…


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

