15
Jun
09

same but different.

Same

We both love coffee and tea equally.

We both consider camping one of our favorite activities.

We both like riding bikes – although me more recently than you.

We both enjoy gardening and seeing our edible plants grow.

We each have a strong appreciation and love for the pacific northwest.

We both enjoy playing games.

We both value family and friends.

We are both very loyal to each other.

We both have outgoing personalities.

We both enjoy going out to dinner and cooking. Dinner is an event.

Different

You detest products and bottles on the bathroom counter. I loathe junk on the kitchen counter, taking over all of the cooking space.

I enjoy watching TV, you don’t.

I brush my teeth with hot water. You, cold water.

You like beer – I prefer wine.

I am a fast reader. You, not so much.

You are a good sweeper and you don’t mind it – I hate sweeping.

I prefer my showers scalding hot – you like yours luke warm.

I can tolerate a messy house for a few days but I quickly become agitated and anxious. I’m not sure if it even bugs you.

You are skilled photographer and you have a keen eye for composition. My pics are predictable and uninspiring.

You eat soup with a big spoon; I opt for a smaller one.

Although I do LOVE salty and crunchy snacks like chips, I don’t like my food over-salted and buttered. I don’t. And I don’t understand why this salt-thing is such a point of contention for you. It makes my hands swollen and I retain buckets of water. It’s uncomfortable. It has nothing to do with you personally – I don’t like it when anyone over-salts my food. You don’t eat ground meat, so I stopped cooking it. I don’t make you eat it.

I am bossy in the kitchen – fine, I’ll own it. I think my way is the best way. But you are a taker-overer. If you don’t like how I’m doing something, you’ll take over. You can also be a KIA (know-it-all).

We aren’t the same. We have a lot in common, but we aren’t the same. That’s what makes us work. The good news is that we agree more than we disagree. And we agree on the big things. After eight years (Sunday is our eight year anniversary), there’s no one I’d rather disagree with.

I’m sorry we got in a stupid fight tonight. One thing we definitely both have in common is a mean case of the HUNGRY ANGRIES. I’m sorry. I love you.

Oh, and I don’t throw items in the recycle bin without removing the caps just to make you mad. I promise.

5 Responses to “same but different.”


  1. 1 John
    June 15, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    Hot water? Sorry Kindra, that’s just weird.

  2. 2 Derek
    June 16, 2009 at 9:50 am

    Good post. But I don’t like my food salty. I don’t like to taste the salt itself, rather I use it to bring out the flavors of the food. It has to be just the right amount. You make me sound like a salt lover. I don’t like salty foods. I never eat chips because they all taste so salty to me. Do you wanna go camping this weekend? 😉

  3. 3 kb
    June 16, 2009 at 9:55 am

    Yeah, I’ll go camping with you!

  4. 4 Fishstick
    June 16, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Angry hungrys are THE WORST. We carry granola bars with us everywhere and can often be heard saying “talk to me after I eat this sandwich”. Glad to hear we aren’t the only ones!

  5. 5 sara
    June 19, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    i love this post! i get a SERIOUS case of the hungry angries. don’t even talk to me until i’ve had my first bite. congratulations on eight years!!!


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

