11
Jun
09

segway scandal.

I don’t normally rant and rave about government, politicians, etc. While I do try to stay informed of the issues, I usually get bored and generally I feel apathetic about all of it.

However, there is nothing that angers me more than Seattle Parking Enforcement riding around on Segways. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? My tax dollars are paying for SEGWAYS for the fat, lazy parking enforcement team?  At $5,000 a piece, I’m livid. The city should be ashamed of this frivolous expense, but instead they brag about. In a recent press release they boast, “Seattle Police Department now operates one of the largest fleet of Segways in the nation for parking enforcement…By being openly mobile, our PEOs on Segways have observed they are easily approached by people and engaged in positive conversations.” Give me a freakin’ break. When is the last time you were happy to see a parking enforcement agent at your car – regardless of how they arrived there. This is a complete outrage!

What happened to bicycles? Or feet? Heaven forbid a parking enforcement officer should have to WALK.  I can’t believe that the city is supporting this crap. I swear, next time I see one I’m going to push it over and run.

Segway

8 Responses to “segway scandal.”


  1. 1 Derek
    June 12, 2009 at 11:20 am

    It’s a combination of the two worst things on earth, parking enforcement and Segways. I would love to slash their tires.

  2. June 12, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    I’ll create a diversion; say, double park in a handicap zone, while you speak for the average Joe.

  3. 3 John
    June 15, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    Holy Crap! I totally forgot to add them to the list of “hall monitors” in your previous post, yet this is the most obvious. I know, the common reponse that “we all have to make a living… and we need to support our families…” blah blah blah. But who… and I mean WHO thinks of this as a calling. I certainly think that riding a Segway somewhat takes the sting out of a career that 99.99% of the population loathes, but come on; as a parent with hopes and dreams for their children is this EVER what they envision? By the way, the photo is awesome; beyond the helmet and shades that the narc is sporting, they should really attach a an orange flag with “D-Bag” emblazzoned upon it.

  4. 4 Danila
    October 17, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Frankly, as a pedastrian I am not in favour of those drivers committing parking offences. If it’s illegal for you to park somewhere may be you really shouldn’t. If you can’t find a parking spot somewhere, may be you should consider public transport, or, you know, WALKING?

    There is nothing wrong with parking enforcement and if it’s more economical for them to ride Segways (instead of, you know, $30K cars that they need to park somewhere contributing to the parking problem and that burn gas contributing to the global warming problem), I applaud them for trying.

    Perhaps you care to comment on some of these ideas, huh?

  5. 5 Derek
    October 20, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Sounds to me like you hooked a meter maid, Kindra. I like how she emphasizes “WALKING,” yet she’s arguing for the Segway? hmmmm.

    If I were in favor of the position I’d say the best solution is really for them to have bicycles, keeping them in shape (after all they are on the city police force). But better yet, I’d like to see those idiots on Segways buzzing through the Belltown area busting the people that I have to watch smoke crack, shoot heroin and offer to blow me on my way to work. Make yourself useful Danila and clean-up the streets.

  6. 6 KS
    October 21, 2009 at 7:32 am

    Frankly, I’d like to know what a “pedastrian” is.

    And it’s not illegal to park legally, pay for street parking, and then forget to add more time to the meter once it’s run out, thus inviting the segway-riding-parking-enforcement to issue a ticket. It sucks, but it’s not illegal.

  7. 7 Johnb286
    August 14, 2014 at 2:11 am

    Good website! I truly love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a great day! cbaekefbebed


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

