07
Jun
09

box o’ treasures.

I’m not much of a pack rat. Unnecessary clutter makes me a little anxious. Even if I wanted to be – my apartment wouldn’t allow for it. I keep very few “keepsakes” – it’s just not my style. Last week while visiting my mom, she informed my sister and me that we each had a box of high school stuff to take with us. Reluctantly I carted it home, assuming it was all junk. These are items I haven’t looked at or missed in many, many years.

The box sat in my bedroom for a week untouched. Finally, I had the time to dig through it and it was like opening a window to my past.  There are a couple things worth noting and reflecting on.

#1 My generation spent way too much time writing notes. Today’s high school kids send texts; we wrote notes. Lengthy notes with bright colored pens, varied fonts and intricate folding schemes. It’s funny, because reading through them now as an adult, it was clear that the content was far less important than the presentation. Of course, some of them held juicy secrets, but most of them were the equivalent of a meaningless doodle, a means to pass the time. Now, I wish I could collect all the notes from my girlfriends. I would organize them and publish them into a book – chronicling the defining, shaping and “important” events of our young lives from each of our unique perspectives.

#2 Digging through all my high school artifacts, I was both humored and humiliated by my self-perception. I was naively grown-up and painfully confident.

#3 I had an amazing group of girlfriends –full of life, supportive, loving and unfailing. Undoubtedly, they helped to form my ideas of friendship and relationships in general. We laughed, we cried, we fought (rarely) and then we laughed some more. I’ve been fortunate my entire life to have amazing girlfriends.  Sometimes it makes me sad that we all aren’t as close as we used to be. Part of me feels deeply guilty and responsible for not making more of an effort, and part of me isn’t convinced that it would have made much of a difference. We still keep in touch, but it’s not the same. We have grown-up and we have pushed our own paths.  Nonetheless, I miss them fiercely.

Against my natural instincts to purge anything I haven’t used in a year, I decided to keep the box o’ treasures.

6 Responses to “box o’ treasures.”


  1. June 8, 2009 at 7:47 am

    Oh Kindra – you’ve verbalized what I’ve been thinking for years as I randomly go through boxes of our seemingly endless notes. If you ever did decide to make a book of all of our notes with all the girls, I’ve still got several boxes I can’t seem to part with that you can use! 🙂

    I can’t even get through 3 or 4 notes because they all get so repetitive but at the same time it’s fun to jump back in time for a few minutes and relive all those seemingly important experiences that are completely irrelevant now.

  2. 2 KS
    June 8, 2009 at 8:40 am

    Haha! My parents just moved and I was told I’ve got similar “Ganj-e Penhan” (hidden treasure) at their house that they’d like to dispose of. Keep some of it. Your kids will thank you one day 🙂

  3. 3 sara
    June 8, 2009 at 11:01 am

    I too have discovered the box ‘o treasures at my mom’s house and each time I visit her, I always head to the storage room where it is kept and dig through it again, hoping to see things I may have missed the last time I went digging. We wrote hundreds of notes and it’s so funny to go back and read them and realize that we had nothing to say. It really was just a way of passing the time.

    I have the same feelings about clutter as you…..it gives me some anxiety. But these are the kinds of things that are worth keeping forever.

  4. 4 Halie
    June 9, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    Kindra – I too miss all of our friends as you put it, fiercely. Please know that you are not the only one who feels guilty about all of us growing apart. I think about that more than you know. I am so glad you wrote this piece. It really touched me and please know that I love you and all of our friends dearly, and always will.

    (To all of you blog readers out there I am sorry for the personal note)

  5. 5 Janelle
    June 10, 2009 at 10:11 am

    Alright, alright, I’ll respond. I just want to say I LOVE the book idea. How great would that be to do for our (gulp) 10 year reunion, which we are all not going to, btw. When I moved last time I found my high school box of pictures. It contained titles like: ‘da lake house – ninth grade – Amy, Halie, Kindra and Jenna get trashed – bye bye Kindra – Halie, Jenna and Janelle at jack off in the box and bowling…things like that. Photos from all our 16th birthdays, yeah, I said 16. It’s been a long time you guys and even though we don’t see each other as much as we should right now it doesn’t mean that we won’t later. We are still young and have plenty of time. I’m just graduating from college for pete’s sake! So, I’m being optimistic here, we can keep in touch, dinner once a month from now on, remember? I miss everyone too and I miss the good times we had and I do genuinely appreciate all of my high school girlfriends. I think we were really lucky to have that group of friends and I am so proud of where everyone is today. We all grew up to be amazing people, and that is definitely something to remember.

  6. June 15, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    You said it Janelle!! I’d love to do dinner out…and any adult conversation rocks in my book!! Let’s work on it.


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

