10
Mar
09

a buyer’s market.

Graduate high school. <check>

Move out. <check>

Graduate college. <check>

Get a job. <check x3>

Meet the man of your dreams. <check>

Get engaged and married. <anxiously waiting>

Buy a house. <eeeek>

For so many years, I was discouraged by the Seattle housing market. Values were increasing like crazy and bidding wars were the norm. There was this sense of urgency to “break into the market”. If you could just get in, then your home value would increase and you’d be able to sell two years later for a decent profit. It was completely outside of my reach.

Fast forward to today. Values are decreasing and many homes are sitting on the market for months. It’s FINALLY a buyer’s market. I obsessively check redfin to monitor prices and new listings. The problem is…that I’m not quite ready for it! I need to save some money first, but I’m scared that I’m going to miss the window. Practical Kindra is telling me to be patient, save my money and wait until I’m absolutely ready. Risk-taker Kindra is telling me that we are “in it to win it” and that the early bird gets the worm. There will never be a perfect time; act now. As you can see, I’ve got a heated internal battle going on inside me!

Drama queen? I think so. Ok, so I’ve overdramatized this a tad, but you get the point. I can’t help but think about these things and I don’t want to miss my opportunity. I work hard and eventually I deserve to own a home. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see. Unfortunately, patience is not my strong suit.

On a side note, typing out that list at the top of the post made me sick to my stomach. Can you say predictable and boring?! Of course, context is everything and I was trying to make a point. I could also write a list of all the fun, amazing and unconventional things I’ve done. Even so, I’m still feeling a little nauseous. I think I’ll go shave my head or take up the cello or something.

1 Response to “a buyer’s market.”


  1. 1 sara
    March 11, 2009 at 10:08 am

    i’d love to see you playing the cello with a shaved head. hey, i know two great condos you can buy right now for a killer deal! 😉


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

