03
Mar
09

who knew?

My entire life I have hated Brussels sprouts – hated them. Even as an adult I have tried them several times hoping to change my mind. No luck, until two weeks ago. One evening I came home from the gym to find Derek cooking something up. It smelled so good my mouth immediately started watering! I was promptly disappointed to find out he was cooking Brussels sprouts. Ew.  But they smelled so good I had to try one. To my surprise THEY WERE DELICIOUS! Honestly, it shocked the heck out of me! We’ve had them twice since then and are planning on making them again this week.

If you hate Brussels sprouts, try this. Cut them in half and remove any loose leaves. Melt butter in a sauté pan; add Brussels sprouts flat side down. Cook for roughly 5 minutes on medium heat.  Brussels sprouts should be just barely tender at this point and slightly browned on the flat side.  Drizzle butter, lemon juice, crushed garlic, salt and pepper over top. Sauté for another 5-10 minutes on medium heat allowing them to caramelize. Don’t flip.  Do not let them get mushy. Sprouts should be golden brown and caramelized on flat side. Enjoy!

brusselsprouts-copy

6 Responses to “who knew?”


  1. 2 John
    March 5, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Derek SO has a crush on Cisco Morris! (Somebody needed to let you know…) Why else would he consider cooking or consuming what most people refer to as “The Devil’s Testicles?” Kindra, you have to leave now!! Run!! I think that Cisco is going to end up moving in “just for a few days…” This will then stretch into a few weeks, months and all of sudden, BAM!! you’ll wake up and realize that you are in a plural marriage with Derek and Cisco and there will be stupid plants everywhere. The “DT’s” may seem like innocent new part of your menu but I truly believe that it is the start of what will eventually become you waking up between Cisco and Derek. Know this: You always have a safe place with us!

  2. 3 kb
    March 5, 2009 at 11:53 am

    I’m glad someone else noticed! I’ve long suspected his man-crush.

  3. 4 Derek
    March 5, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    we’re just friends

  4. 5 Mary B
    March 9, 2009 at 8:24 am

    Yay! I was hoping you would post this recipe- it’s very very tasty. My whole life I’ve heard they were gross, but I think that’s because people used to boil them or something nasty. I’ll have to whip these up some night for myself (you know Gabe doesn’t eat veggies).

  5. 6 Shelby
    May 31, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    I am going to try these this week… I hope they are as good as you say!! I will let you know how it goes. anything tastes good with lots of butter, right??


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

