03
Feb
09

peeking on facebook.

I know I’m going to anger all you facebookers out there, but I have a confession. I’ve used Derek’s account to peek on facebook – twice. And I like it. I feel super sneaky. For years I have resisted myspace and facebook and for the past 3 months I’ve been toying with the idea of succumbing and joining. But I feel like I’m cheating on myself. I have several reasons for not wanting to join:

Reason #1: I hate (and this applies to my blog), when people think that online readership/viewing equals a real friendship. It doesn’t. In my opinion, you can’t have a meaningful relationship on facebook. Yes, it’s a great tool to keep updated but it doesn’t replace face time or even phone time. You can’t assume that because you read my blog that you know what’s going on with me. You know what I’ve chosen to share with the blogosphere. Same thing goes with facebook/myspace.

Reason #2: Social networking sites kind of feel like a popularity contest. The goal is to get as many friends as you can.

Reason #3: I keep telling myself I don’t have time to keep up a blog AND a facebook account. And I don’t. I don’t want to be online anymore than I already am.

Reason #4: I feel awkward situations coming on where I feel the need to accept invites from people I haven’t seen in 6 years. What is the appropriate way to handle this? Just accept everyone? I can see why some people have so many friends if this is the protocol.

All of these reasons are good, but they still don’t negate my two main attractions to facebook. 1) I like looking at all the photos. 2) I feel like I’m missing out – I wanna play too!

What’s a girl to do?

9 Responses to “peeking on facebook.”


  1. February 4, 2009 at 7:50 am

    Oh Kindra, just do it! 🙂 You only have to be as involved as you want to be. And it’s only as much of a popularity contest as you make it.

  2. 2 Kathryn
    February 4, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    A popularity contest? That has to do with YOU not anyone else. I pay no attention whatsoever to how many friends I have. Honestly, the smaller number the better if you ask me.
    Also, I NEVER have EVER replaced real friendships with “cyber friendships”. It is what YOU make of it. The same things can be said about blogs. Stop being stressy mc-stresser pants.
    You are a silly creature.
    🙂

  3. 3 Kathryn
    February 4, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    When am I going to see you again by the way?

    I mean, if you join facebook, we can cyber hangout and cyber have coffee in a cyber cafe! 🙂

  4. February 4, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    I agree totally!! (hi, me again, going on Jenna’s encouragement that it’s okay for a semi-total stranger to comment on your blog). Reason #1: amen. Reason #2 AMEN! I am going to post a blog expanding on the theme that facebook is like gummy bears and blogs are like a real dessert, but real relationships are the staff of life.

  5. 5 kb
    February 5, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    OK, SERIOUSLY PEOPLE!?!? You let me go for two days without pointing out that I used the wrong “peak” “peek”. Thank you Stacy for catching my mistake!

  6. 6 Halie
    February 5, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Kindra you are a closet facebooker! I can’t wait to see your real face soon 🙂

  7. 8 des
    August 20, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    I am still waiting for you to get on fb. You dont have to add friends you havent seen or wont really talk to. But- if you do, there is really no harm done. You dont have to talk to them every day or share life secrets. I am happy I have been able to have a peek into your and Dereks life through his posts and pics. Geeze, since every one in the world has met him but me. I have enjoyed it, buuuuutt, I will agree with the spending too much time online point!

    Congrats on the Engagement!! I know you have been waiting a long time and I am very happy for you both.

    xoxoxo,
    Des


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

