02
Feb
09

9/80

My company has just implemented an alternative work schedule called 9/80. It compresses 80 hours of work into nine days instead of the traditional ten. In exchanged for working 9-hour days, we get every other Friday off. Yes, you heard me…a three day weekend every other week!!

I recognize that it’s not feasible for everyone (especially with young kids), and those people still have the option to work the traditional work week. But for those of us who can put in 9-hours a day, it’s awesome! Yes, the days are long, but it’s essentially equivalent to 26 extra vacation days a year. I had my first day off on Friday, it was wonderful!

4 Responses to “9/80”


  1. 1 KS
    February 3, 2009 at 7:32 am

    I might have mentioned this on Sunday, but I’m incredibly jealous! I’d love an occasional weekeday off to get laundry and cleaning done, and mostly just have a personal day!

  2. 2 Derek
    February 3, 2009 at 10:33 am

    I wouldn’t call it 26 extra vacation days, simply because you cannot use those days when you’d like (as you would a vacation day). You actually can’t go anywhere longer than 3 days (4 if a holiday falls adjacent to the weekend).

    Don’t get me wrong, it’s awesome – I’m just bitter because I don’t have 9/80. I think most people would like a 9/80 schedule. So many weekends slip by with out even feeling like there were two days off. Enjoy it, you deserve it.

  3. February 21, 2014 at 12:51 pm

    Excellent web site you have here.. It’s hard to find excellent writing like yours these days.
    I truly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  4. May 21, 2014 at 11:43 pm

    Hi! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post
    reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept chatting about this.

    I will forward this write-up to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read.
    Thank you for sharing!


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

