22
Jan
09

Light at the end of the tunnel? Or the beginning of the end?

I am very concerned and troubled after this week’s announcement of Washington State’s unemployment rate (7.1%) and the recent news regarding Microsoft layoffs (1,400 today and 5,000 over the next 18 months). It feels like the situation is spiraling out of control and I’m fearful that our state’s job market will not be able to absorb all of those people for a very long time. This impacts everyone; although some more directly than others. While I am optimistic about my job, I have friends who are out of work – trying to support children and keep their homes. My thoughts are with them. I wish I could do more.

I can’t help but wonder if we’ll look back on this time 20 years from now and be thankful that we were able to turn things around quickly; or if we’ll remember it as the beginning of a long, painful haul. I’m cautiously optimistic.

3 Responses to “Light at the end of the tunnel? Or the beginning of the end?”


  1. January 22, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    My dad just read an article tonight that I thought encompassed this whole economic situation nicely. It went something like, 2008 was the year the party ended and 2009 is the hangover. I think it’s true in a lot of ways. Hopefully this hangover will be painful enough to remind us that we don’t need to drink as much next time, and will maybe even convince us to be the DD next time – or quit drinking altogether! None of us are immune to these conditions and it’s a scary thing but it reminds us of just how important our families are and the people whom we love. Hopefully we learn a little bit about humility and moderation from all of this.

  2. February 4, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    Yeah, what Jenna said. It’s a needed wake-up call to all those addicted to having more than they need and needing it now. Many are simply caught in the wake of actions.

  3. February 4, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    of others. (Don’t know what happened to the other two words!)


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

