04
Jan
09

Spring cleaning – in the winter.

I’m not sure if it’s our small apartment closing in on me or the start of a new year, but I’ve had a serious urge to purge, clean and de-clutter everything. Last week, we decided we would not go to the grocery store – even though we really needed to. Instead, we ate our way through the cupboards and got creative with dinners for a week. A few of the dinners were a bust, and a few were surprisingly good. While it was hard to go without milk and fresh produced for a week, it was actually really fun! I highly recommend it and plan on doing twice a year.

In the same vein, I went through my closet yesterday and found three bags of clothes for goodwill. Tomorrow, I plan to go through all the condiments in the fridge.

3 Responses to “Spring cleaning – in the winter.”


  1. 1 KS
    January 5, 2009 at 7:19 am

    We are doing the same thing too! Well, so far, mostly with lotions and potions and other crap we have multiples of. I threw a ton of cosmetics away yesterday and now I feel just a bit…lighter somehow.

  2. 2 Kathryn
    January 5, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    Good idea! I think I’ll do that with my bathroom tonight. Isn’t it hard to be healthy with cupboard crap though? That’s my only complaint. In the land of New Years resolutions and all…

  3. 3 Anonymous
    January 7, 2009 at 11:17 am

    I recently found out that my household of 2 spent over $1,700 at Costco since September 1st. OMG! I was shocked! And no, we didn’t by a TV or a bed. Just food, TP, and the usual household necessities. I think we should eat and use what we already have for a MONTH!


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

