03
Nov
08

sake bombs and dots

It all started with a bottle of champagne and some funny China stories. We were all happy to be celebrating Friday, happy to be celebrating Halloween and all around just happy to be together and hanging out. After all, it had been more than 4 weeks since we’d all hung out; the 4 of us had a lot of catching up to do!

One bottle of champagne, one glass of wine, two flaming sake bombs, three martinis and two Sophia champagne cans later – we were lit up like Christmas trees. And the guys weren’t drinking. None of us were dressed up – and none of us had planned on dressing up. But when we got home from sushi, that’s not what S wanted to hear. As we walked up to my apartment, she couldn’t help but notice that my neighbor was having a Halloween party. The second we get in the apartment, S starts digging through my bins to find costumes for everyone. She is dead-set on going out in her witch costume (thrown together in about 2 minutes). Nonchalantly, I tell her that if she finds me 5 boxes of dots I’ll go to my neighbor’s party with her. Oh geez. The second the words are out of my mouth – I wish I could swallow them. I knew this was going to be bad. She quickly turns on her heel and marches out of the apartment. Less than 5 minutes later she storms back in and throws 6 boxes of dots at me. C’MON NOW – YOU PROMISED.

So, like any good friend, I squeeze into an old ladybug costume. And I mean squeeze! I looked like a woman clinging to her youth – stuffed into a costume that is only appropriate if you’re a size 0 and 15 years old. I looked ridiculous. I knew it at the time, but I was too drunk to care. We had a party to go to – and off we went.

You may be wondering, where did S get those dots? Well, she did what any drunk girl would do…she marched into the neighbor’s house…let herself in…found their candy bowl…got the dots…and ran out. You also may be wondering, Kindra, do you know your neighbors? Were you invited to this party? No, I was not invited. I have never been invited to any of his parties. I have never even been in his house. I also failed to tell you the most important detail – my neighbor is also my landlord. EEEEEKK!

We proceed to let ourselves into my landlord’s house. There aren’t very many people there- so two drunk girls are very noticeable (not to mention that we are the youngest people in the room…by far). We march around the house for a couple minutes like we own the place and then my landlord walks up to me and says, “uh…hey Kindra. This is a surprise.” NO CRAP. At this point things start to get very awkward. He’s obviously not drinking and we…well, we definitely are. In fact, he caught us at his bar. Oh geez!! How old are we?

I’m just going to pretend like this never happened. Ha!

3 Responses to “sake bombs and dots”


  1. 2 S
    November 4, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    You forgot the part where you hid in the bushes, only to reveal yourself by yelling ‘Fruit’ at the top of your lungs (indicating you prefer dots to hersheys). That was my favorite!


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

