13
Oct
08

must respond.

I feel the need to address/respond to the post “Do something.” on Electrolicious. I read Electrolicious religiously and I have a love/hate relationship with it – just as I do with all the blogs I read.

I feel completely torn on the whole topic. On one hand, I completely understand where she is coming from. People need to DO something and feel passionate about something/anything (preferably other than TV). It’s easy to get lazy and complacent – trust me, I know. But a life of going through the motions is boring and unfulfilling. We would never make ANY progress. Get engaged with life people!

That being said, I don’t think it’s that black and white.

Balance – I think that balance is at the heart of this issue for some people. At what point do you continue striving, planning, driving ahead? And when do you relax and enjoy the moment? Sometimes I feel like everyone is so caught up IN life that they stop enjoying life. I can relate to Kristen’s comment, “While I spend plenty of time “doing” I make a conscious effort to spend some time just “being.” Sometimes you have to take the time to do nothing at all.”

Timing – There is also a timing element to consider. I know personally, there are times in my life where I have felt motivated and inspired – unstoppable. And other times where I’m just trying to get through it – exhausted. Everyone has their time to shine – their time to be engaged in personal passions and to explore them. The luckiest and most ingenious people have found ways to weave their passions into their everyday life – and get paid for them. Lucky!

Capacity to “do” – Not everyone has the same capacity or propensity to “do”. For example, I have made a commitment to maintain this blog because I love it! However, someone else might look at this choice and wonder why I don’t do something more meaningful or impactful. It’s all relative.

Perspective – I think it’s important to remember that everyone has a different perspective; including Electrolicious.  Not all of us work 3 days a week at Microsoft leaving the other 4 days for our personal projects. The majority of the world works 5 days a week, leaving little time for personal passions. Some people are working multiple jobs, are busy providing for their families and, frankly, are struggling to stay afloat.

Despite my post, I really do agree with Electrolicious. I wish people (including myself) would spend more time nurturing their passions and actively living life – rather than let life wander by. I just don’t think it’s that simple.

1 Response to “must respond.”


  1. October 14, 2008 at 6:22 am

    I totally agree with you. “Do Something” was definitely written as a polemic, as I’ve spent the last 2 years consciously trying to do less! I schedule naps and intentionally turn down work and social invitations so that I can cultivate the slack in my life. I think the workaholic compulsion to always be producing something is just as dangerous as apathetic absorption/consumerism.


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

