02
Oct
08

an autumn meme

I’m a sucker for memes – feel free to answer it yourself and post it as a comment.

Have you ever been apple picking?
Duh! We live in Washington State – home of the apple; the #1 apple growing state in the US. Plus, my grandparents owned an orchard in Eastern Washington several years ago. My favorite variety is Golden Delicious.

Is there a dish you make/eat only during this time of the year?
Soup! Derek and I were going to make a different soup every week this fall. I guess we’ll start when he returns from China.

Will you attend a ‘tail gate’ party this season?
Probably.

When do you turn on the heat?

I don’t have a specific date in mind, but I bet it will be soon!

How many sweaters do you own?
Too many; 40% of which I don’t wear.

Are you fond of Nouveau Beaujolais wine?
I’ve never had it – in fact, I had to google it. Maybe I’ll give it a try!

Do you get excited about Halloween?
Eh – it’s ok.

How about Thanksgiving?
ABSOLULTEY. It is hands-down my favorite holiday. I love everything about it. The menu planning. The food preparation. The food. The family. The leftovers. It’s a low pressure holiday centered around family. What could be better?

This year, I’m spending Thanksgiving with Derek’s family. They rented a cozy cabin on Mount Baker – I can’t wait!

Is there an activity you do only in the autumn?
Watch Football.

Have you ever burned leaves?
Me personally? No. I don’t own property.

Do you own any ‘scarecrow’ decorations?
Hmm – nope. I can’t say I do. When I was 5, my dad was the scarecrow from the Wizard of Oz for Halloween. I’ve never seen him dress up other than that time. Weird.

Do you plant bulbs?
Nah.

Your fondest autumn memory?
Last year, Derek and I spent a long weekend in the San Juan Islands at a cozy Bed & Breakfast. We even had a fireplace in our room – it was very romantic. We went out to scrumptious dinners, slept in late, visited a pumpkin patch, drank hot chocolate, played in a pile of leaves at a park, and went for long drives during the day. Positively perfect.

Ok, that didn’t happen. But didn’t it sound wonderful?

5 Responses to “an autumn meme”


  1. 1 Clearly working hard @ work
    October 3, 2008 at 8:17 am

    Have you ever been apple picking?
    hmm…maybe crab apples?

    Is there a dish you make/eat only during this time of the year?
    I tend to cook pot roast more so during this time of the year than any other time.

    Will you attend a ‘tail gate’ party this season?
    Hopefully, but sometimes they get a little intense.

    When do you turn on the heat?

    Never? I heat our “house” (all 860 SF of it), with the oven as I’m cooking. I like to sleep incredibly cold. I still have the fan going…

    How many sweaters do you own?
    Not as many as I’d like. But, I think I’m becoming more of a zip-up hoody fan when it comes to “cozy” clothes.

    Are you fond of Nouveau Beaujolais wine?
    say wha…..?!

    Do you get excited about Halloween?
    I get excited about the discount candy at Target the day after Halloween…does that count?

    How about Thanksgiving?
    Most favorite holiday ever! Good food, good friends, good family, no pressure to find the perfect gift, occasionally snow makes an appearance…I love it all!

    Is there an activity you do only in the autumn?
    Overload on TV; it’s quite embarassing.

    Have you ever burned leaves?
    We never really had trees in our yard. We recycled all of our yard waste.

    Do you own any ‘scarecrow’ decorations?
    Not currently. Our HOA is over zealous about rules regulating decorations.

    Do you plant bulbs?
    I can’t. We don’t have a yard.

    Your fondest autumn memory?
    Starting college in the Fall of 2000….wow…was that really 8 years ago?!

  2. 2 TGI Me!
    October 3, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Have you ever been apple picking?
    Absolutely…….never. Kind of pathetic, especially considering it is the apple state.

    Is there a dish you make/eat only during this time of the year?
    Red Pepper soup is definitely one of my fall favorites. Also, I love to try lots of new soup recipes so hopefully some will be posted on here….hint hint!

    Will you attend a ‘tail gate’ party this season?
    I’ll keep my fingers crossed that I do. I may even attend one and not the game.

    When do you turn on the heat?

    When it’s cold?! And by turn on the heat, I mean, flip the switch to the fire place….I think I even did that this “summer”.

    How many sweaters do you own?
    Too many that are too old! Time to purge.

    Are you fond of Nouveau Beaujolais wine?
    I’ve never had it – in fact, I had to google it. Maybe I’ll give it a try! <— what she said!

    Do you get excited about Halloween?
    LOVE it. I love the decorations, I love the seasonal changes happening around the time, I love the candy, I love the costumes (silly and spooky of course).

    How about Thanksgiving?
    Absa-stinking-lutely! Food, Family, Football. What more could a girl want?! oh! LEFTOVERS.

    Is there an activity you do only in the autumn?
    Pick a pumpkin?!

    Have you ever burned leaves?
    Can’t say that I have.

    Do you own any ‘scarecrow’ decorations?
    No, but I plan on acquiring one. Perhaps after the season is over though (can someone say “SALE”?)

    Do you plant bulbs?
    My mama does, and they are HUGE monster bulbs. Gorgeous.

    Your fondest autumn memory?
    My first fall in Bellingham. It was absolutely beautiful up there and my “new” life was beginning….or so I thought at the time. I was happy to be home from the desert and really started appreciated the great Northwest!

  3. 3 Stacy
    October 3, 2008 at 9:50 am

    Have you ever been apple picking?
    ditto Kindra’s duh. And my grandpa has a big apple tree right out his back door. Grandma used to have us over to pick the apples and then make apple betty or apple pie with them.

    Is there a dish you make/eat only during this time of the year?
    There are things that I make starting now through the winter – spiced cider, pot roast, etc. But not only in the fall.

    Will you attend a ‘tail gate’ party this season?
    Already did!

    When do you turn on the heat?
    We turned it on for 20 minutes about a week ago, but it will probably go on again in about a week.

    How many sweaters do you own?
    Lots of old, pilled sweaters. : (

    Are you fond of Nouveau Beaujolais wine?
    I’m not even going to bother looking it up. I don’t know what it is.

    Do you get excited about Halloween?
    Only when I have a costume that I’m excited about, which hasn’t happened since Mary Kay. And now we hardly get any trick or treaters, which was so much fun at the old house.

    How about Thanksgiving?
    Turkey dinner is my all-time favorite meal. And usually i get it both at Thanksgiving and at Christmas. Well this year I am not spending Christmas at home, so I will be savoring every bite of my Tgiving dinner. Plus, I LOVE being surrounded by family. Last year I was really disappointed because my mom’s brother’s fam decided to spend thanksgiving at home ‘as a family’. Hello! Aren’t cousins and grandparents family?? I hope they don’t do that again. The more the merrier! Usually we have between 25 and 35 people. Can’t wait!! Plus this year the Seahawks are playing in Dallas and we’ll all watch the game together!

    Is there an activity you do only in the autumn?
    Carve pumpkins and cook the seeds. Yum.

    Have you ever burned leaves?
    No. Is there something cool about that? I just put them in the yard waste bin.

    Do you own any ‘scarecrow’ decorations?
    No, but when Andre and I were at Home Depot there was one that I wanted..

    Do you plant bulbs?
    No

    Your fondest autumn memory?
    Playing flag football with my siblings and parents up at the elementary school. LOVED it! I hope that Andre will play flag football with me and the kids someday….

  4. 4 big mama
    October 6, 2008 at 6:24 am

    Apple Picking…never picked an apple in my life! Weird as I spent about 15 years in Oroville, WA where while in high school, every fall we were given a week off for apple harvest so students could help with the picking.

    I look forward to Autumn Stew in the fall.

    Tailgating again this year at WSU this fall.

    I turn on the heat when I’m cold – sometimes that’s in the summer.

    I probably have 10 sweaters – I realized last year that even though I like to be warm, I don’t like how most sweaters feel on me, plus they are too hard to care for. I don’t like how they stretch and ball up – even when you spend a lot of money on one.

    Probably have never had that wine….and if I did, I guess I forgot.

    Halloween was fun when the kids were little. I’m not a big fan now.

    LOVE Thanksgiving.

    I just bought a bunch of pumkins for the front porch… something I do every fall. Also, just picked up new Live from the Mountain Music CD….another thing I have done for the last 7-8 falls.

    We burned leaves when I was young. It was always a celebration of our busy summer season being over.

    No more scarecrows….I prefer pumpkins now.

    Yes, I have planted bulbs. It’s such a treat in the spring and I love tulips.

    Favorite fall memory….hmmm – can’t think of one that anyone would be interested in hearing – other than all of the Thanksgivings in my life (at least most of them).

  5. 5 AMS
    October 10, 2008 at 7:56 am

    Have you ever been apple picking?
    -We pick apples off the trees on Henry Island, and feed them to the deer that live their. They are so cute!

    Is there a dish you make/eat only during this time of the year?
    -Well fall makes me think of Thanksgiving, and there is one thing we have on Thanksgiving that we never eat any other day of the year, and that’s squash w/ marshmallows on top. I only eat the marshmallow part…and somehow my mom manages to burn it every single year, last year it almost started a kitchen fire!

    Will you attend a ‘tail gate’ party this season?
    -Already have, and plan to attend a lot more…

    When do you turn on the heat?
    -I started turning it on weeks ago.

    How many sweaters do you own?
    -Really not that many…I need to do some fall shopping, I see some H&M trips in my near future.

    Are you fond of Nouveau Beaujolais wine?
    -Huh? Does that come in a box…

    Do you get excited about Halloween?
    -I love Halloween, I’m thinking about having a halloween party but haven’t decided yet, I guess I should get on that if I am…

    How about Thanksgiving?
    -I love Thanksgiving! Super excited for this year’s thanksgiving because my sister and brother in law are coming to town.

    Is there an activity you do only in the autumn?
    -Curl up in a ball and cry because summers over, and we have 9 months of misery ahead of us???

    Have you ever burned leaves?
    -I have a story about that, but I prefer not to share…

    Do you own any ‘scarecrow’ decorations?
    -God no! Scarecrows are one step away from having your kitchen decorated w/ a chicken and rooster theme, plus they are scary…I’ll pass

    Do you plant bulbs?
    -Honestly, I don’t plant much of anything…

    Your fondest autumn memory?
    -Any year where we leave and go someplace sunny in the fall would be my fondest autumn memory…bring summer back!!!


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

