17
Sep
08

cohabitation

The decision to “live together” is an interesting one. All my life, I thought this decision would be a huge one. A decision I would need to thoroughly contemplate and overanalyze. A decision that would require writing a list of “pros” and “cons”.  One of the biggest decisions of my life.

When other people announced they were “moving in together” I found myself thinking, “Wow, that’s a big step. I hope they are ready.” And it is a big step – I’m not trying to diminish the significance of it. When you take the step, there’s no going back. I think many young couples rush into it. If you aren’t ready for it, moving in together prematurely can put unnecessary stress on a relationship- eventually leading to breakup. Logically, I know all these things to be true.

However, when it was my turn to decide to cohabitate – there was no question in my mind. There was no list. I didn’t even think about it – it was a done deal. It’s funny how quickly I made the decision; I guess I just knew it would work out and that we were ready.

So far I can’t find any downfalls to living with Derek. It has been blissfully wonderful; better than I could have ever hoped for.  Yes, our apartment is a little small, but we make it work. I guess when you know, you just know.

4 Responses to “cohabitation”


  1. September 17, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    I’ll start this by saying I personally don’t think couples should live together before they’re married but that’s not the point I want to make here. Kindra – you’ve been with Derek for (I’m say 9 years because you were together in high school) 7 years according to a past blog post, during this 7 years I think you were making that list. I think we’re all making this list as we are in a relationship with some one.

    You and Derek learned through your years of commuting and stuffing weeks of snuggles and love and activities into 2 days that cohabiting was thought about, accepted, and put into action. I’m glad to hear things are blissful for you guys, small apartment or not!

  2. 2 kb
    September 18, 2008 at 7:51 am

    To Jenna: Yeah, you’re right. This post may be a little deceiving for people who don’t know us or are new to the blog. We have been together for 7 years, so the decision was probably much easier for us.

    On a side note – we weren’t together in High School, remember? We were arch enemies! It wasn’t until I came home from college for Xmas break that we started hanging out. That fateful night at Gary’s house – you were there! 🙂

  3. 3 Jenna
    September 19, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    Oh man! You’re right…I only remember the drama it created and I really thought that was high school – possibly I just remember it BELONGING back in high school!! Sidenote: Let me know when you come over to get your hair done next, we should do lunch again!

  4. 4 Jenna
    September 19, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Okay, I just read that post and it sounded bad – I meant the waves that were created when you guys got together, not your relationship itself belonging in highschool…okay there I feel better!


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

