04
Sep
08

i hate politics.

This is my own cynical view – but I hate politics. I really do and I can’t escape them right now. On tv, in the office, on the radio, at home, etc. It is everywhere. I’m so tired of it.

I feel like politicians are self-serving and will say whatever it takes to get elected. Democrat, republican…it doesn’t matter; they are all the same. Even if someone “different” was elected, they wouldn’t actually be able to make an impact because the system is so broken. Any radical changes would never make it past congress. And when it’s the end of their term and nothing happens, they’ll blame it on the other party blocking their initiatives.

Who will I vote for? Eh, I’m not sure. Maybe I won’t vote; it’s not like it makes a difference.

8 Responses to “i hate politics.”


  1. 1 Derek
    September 4, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    You’re looking at things very negatively. There is some truth to what you mention – politicians saying the words that will get them where they want to be.
    You’re giving up – change can happen. It certainly won’t if everyone sat back and said “nothing will change..” You sound like Eeyore : )

  2. 2 big mama
    September 5, 2008 at 5:27 am

    I’m right there with ya sista – except I can’t give up hope. I’m not sure where we would be if everyone gave up and no one voted or participated.

  3. 3 Nate
    September 5, 2008 at 8:17 am

    Get in now while your vote counts EXTRA!!!

    See, the way I look at it, when only HALF of the country actually does vote, It’s like i get to vote twice. A kind of civic duty BOGO.

    I know you like bargains, so come on–don’t give in to the apathy and hopelessness of your fellow Americans, CASH IN on it!

  4. 4 sara
    September 5, 2008 at 8:36 am

    You can’t give up!! Your vote does make a difference!

  5. September 5, 2008 at 9:04 am

    If it is any consolation, once they are elected, they will ignore your views for the next 4 years.

  6. September 5, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    I remember when I was in college and I felt like I had the power to change the world. I wanted to go out there and show off my (limited) knowledge of what’s “really” going on. But now, eventhough I don’t have a whole lot of respect for politicians in general, I know that I absolutely do not have the capabilities to do better myself. We have no idea what goes on behind the scenes and all that we know we learn from our media. And we all know how reliable that is! 🙂

    So do your part and focus on making YOUR life and the lives of your little ones count for the future. It’s how I get by everyday while listening to the news and reading the paper.

    I think my dad’s name for your was Kindyor Kindy-loo or the Blue Warrior. If I were more technologically advanced I might have to post that video on my blog! 😀 Just kidding…we’ll leave that in 8th grade where it belongs! We were definitely the original BFF’s before Paris and Lindsay made it popular to call it that! 🙂

    Jenna

  7. 7 Shelby
    September 7, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    Women were not allowed to vote in the past and many worked hard to have that changed! What if those women didn’t stand up to the powers that be to make the needed changes? Many people are apathetic towards our political system which needs to change. The people in Washington have the power to change your life. The power to tell you that you can’t choose what you can do to your own body, decide who can marry, to fund schools or a war in Iraq, to increase or cut your taxes and the list goes on and on. Don’t you want a say in that? Even though your vote may seem small, it does matter.

    Isn’t there something great in a bunch of ordinary people coming together with HOPE that we can CHANGE this nation? It IS possible and if we said it wasn’t possible to people that have paved the way before us, I wonder where we would be? Isn’t that a scary thought?

  8. 8 Kristin
    September 8, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    You better vote! And amen, Shelby.


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

