01
Sep
08

while you were out.

Have you ever seen that TV show While You Were Out? The basic premise of the show is that while the resident is out of town, their friends/family complete a needed home repair or decorating project and then surprise them.  Cool, huh?!  Hold that thought.

My apartment is pretty small – I have very little storage. I complain about it all the time. Last week, Derek and I were brainstorming ideas on how to maximize our space. We decided we needed a hanging shelving unit in the dining room area. Seems fairly simple – but the unit would be a custom size (as to not encroach on the dining area) and it would need to be mounted.

Derek talked to our friend Gary about the project (Gary is a very skilled Finish Carpenter). Derek took the measurements and even worked up a little drawing. Gary acted interested, but I wasn’t getting my hopes up. Who wants to go home and make their friends a shelving unit in their spare time when they do it all day? Not me. I assumed it would be one of those things we talked about for six months and never got around to.

Fast forward one week to today. After being gone all weekend, I enter my apartment and what do I see? A beautiful new shelving unit – installed and everything! SURPRISE! Derek left a key for Gary over the weekend and Gary built it and installed it for me. It’s beautiful and very functional. It increases my kitchen storage space by about 30%. HOORAY for storage!

I quickly filled it up with goodies – see the pics below. Thanks again Gary; you’re the best!

2 Responses to “while you were out.”


  1. 1 big mama
    September 3, 2008 at 10:40 am

    It looks great! Gary did such a beautiful job!

  2. 2 J-Dub
    September 3, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Wow! What great shelves. Gary is so cool. It’s weird though, I didn’t know that he was from Finland…


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

