27
Aug
08

the lonely and forgotten.

I’m scared of a lot of things. Some fears are pretty typical: rapists, murders, cancer, car accidents and family/friends dying (I know, I know, I’ve watched too many episodes of Law and Order SVU).  But I also have less “normal” fears – one of them is getting old. I’m not talking about turning 40, 50 or even 60. I’m not talking about getting old in the conventional sense. This has nothing to do with age, vanity, or mid-life crises. I’m talking about getting REALLY old. The kind of old where people stop noticing you. Stop paying attention to you. Where you are widowed, lonely, helpless. Incompetent. Obsolete. Alone.

I think about it constantly. Every time I see an old man or woman alone riding the bus, or buying groceries, I am reminded that this could someday be my fate and that it is the reality of so many people. It tugs at my heart and leaves me feeling worried. I ponder their bleak options. 1) Stay alone in their home which they can’t manage anymore. 2) Move in with one of their children where they constantly feel like a burden and disruption. 3) Move into a retirement home/assisted living facility where they are placated like a child and herded like a cow. None of these options sounds good.

I’m scared of being old and taken advantage of. Of feeling lost and confused. Of being lonely. And of losing my ability to care for myself. How do the elderly cope with this? I think it’s more than I could handle.

Sometimes I think about volunteering at a retirement or nursing home – but I always talk myself out of it. I’m afraid I’ll confirm my worst fear – that life plateaus and eventually starts going downhill.

2 Responses to “the lonely and forgotten.”


  1. 1 big mama
    August 28, 2008 at 5:41 am

    I know exactly what you are feeling – only my thoughts
    are often around death. However, look at your grandparents and how active they are with friends, etc. You might have to play bridge and golf and have lots of kids to hang out
    with.

    P.S. Anyone…how do you get rid of the green boxes on this
    comment section – my curser goes behind them
    and it drives me nuts as I can’t see what I’m typing.

  2. 2 kb
    August 28, 2008 at 7:41 am

    From Kb: Yes, I see your point about my grandparents. But I’m not really talking about my grandparents. My grandparents are all happy, active and still can take care of themselves. I’m referring to MUCH older people.


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

