10
Aug
08

right brained vs. left brained

Recently, my boss showed me this “spinning girl” visual. It’s crazy! Is she spinning clockwise? Or couter-clockwise? Can you get her to switch directions? Supposedly, if she spins clockwise – you are more right-brained. If she spins counter-clockwise, you are more left brained.

Initially, I saw her spinning counterclockwise. Now I can see her spin both directions. You?

13 Responses to “right brained vs. left brained”


  1. 1 big mama
    August 11, 2008 at 5:40 am

    no doubt – she’s going clockwise….why is she naked???

  2. 2 Kristina
    August 11, 2008 at 6:46 am

    I saw her doing both directions after a while, but the “new direction” didn’t last for very long.

  3. 3 shelby
    August 11, 2008 at 11:16 am

    She switches directions after a little bit, you’ve been fooled!

  4. 4 kb
    August 11, 2008 at 11:25 am

    From KB to Shelby: No she doesn’t! You are just able to switch back and forth!

  5. 5 shelby
    August 11, 2008 at 11:29 am

    watch it for long enough, she switches, I swear. I saw this email a while ago and studied it forever because one time I watched she was going one way and the next time, the other way. I don’t see either one at the same time. My mom and sis agree!

  6. 6 kb
    August 11, 2008 at 11:36 am

    From KB to Shelby: Then how do you explain two people seeing it differently at the same time? I stared at the screen at the same time with people and they see it clockwise and I see it counterclockwise. And there are some people who can’t get it to switch. It’s your brain.

  7. 7 Fishstick
    August 11, 2008 at 11:50 am

    No it totally switches.

    And AGAIN why is she naked AND why does she have hard nipples? I mean seriously, is that necessary? Apparently it gets really cold while you spin endlessly around in circles trying to mess with people’s minds.

  8. 8 kb
    August 11, 2008 at 11:54 am

    From KB to Fishstick: OMG, I love you. You’re so effing funny to me.

    And sorry, she doesn’t switch. Your brain is weird. Don’t worry, so is mine.

  9. 9 Kristina
    August 11, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    i have to admit, I agree with Shelby. I’m convinced the girl changes directions for everyone, if one just waits long enough.

  10. 10 kb
    August 11, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    From KB: It is an optical illusion. She is NOT switching directions – it’s your brain. See this link – it explains the illusion. You people probably believe the magician actually cuts someone in half too!

    http://www.moillusions.com/2007/06/spinning-sihouette-optical-illusion.html

  11. 11 Renee
    August 30, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Dude! I sat and stared at it for a bit, and I saw her switch directions too! I am almost even from what the right vs. left brain quiz results show though, with my right side being dominate. Who knows?!

  12. February 9, 2009 at 11:34 am

    For those who doubt, please visit my website and click on Braindancer. There you’ll find my take on the spinning dancer. Once there, click the green arrow button to change the native rotation of the animation back and forth. Click the yellow arrow to see a man join the woman and to hear some music.

    The animation was originally conceived by Nobuyuki Kayahara. I decided to redo his work to eliminate what I saw to be some distractions, and to ensure that there were no subtle visual cues dictating in which direction viewers were seeing the dancer spin. I also decided to create an additional animation with the dancer spinning in the other direction, which you can control with the green arrow.

    In order to counter some complaints about sexism, voyeurism and whatnot, I further decided to add a male dancer. Click the yellow arrow.

    Poser 4 models spun and rendered in 3D Studio Max. Read more on my website.
    8^)


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

