01
Jul
08

book review: three junes

I’ve decided I’m going to start writing short book reviews on the books I read. Two weekends ago, while we were camping at Silver Falls, I read Three Junes by Julia Glass. It was recommended by my mom.

Overall, I really enjoyed Three Junes. It’s a warm story that weaves together realistic and compelling characters. The story is told over “three Junes” by three different characters: a newspaperman, a bookstore owner and a book designer. I think what I liked best about the novel is that it presented complex and intimate family dynamics – full of imperfection and miscommunication. Even though it’s nothing like my own immediate family relationships, I felt like I could relate to each character and I appreciated their perspective. My only complaint is that the ending left me wanting more!

Books Stats

Title: Three Junes

Author: Julia Glass

Notable: National Book Award Winner

Pages: 353

Reading Level: Easy and Quick

Do I feel like I need to re-read it? No

Would I recommend it? Yes

My overall rating: A

1 Response to “book review: three junes”


  1. July 2, 2008 at 2:50 am

    Short book reviews are perfect. Straight to the point. http://www.bentpage.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

