15
Jun
08

a few of my favorite things

This weekend has been one of the best in awhile – here are a few of the highlights.

The Sun Came Out – Just when I was ready to lose all hope – the sun came out in full force.  It was wonderful and made my weekend.

Cooking for Friends – Sara and Nate came over for dinner on Friday night. This was our first “double date” with them and I’d say it was a success. While I think it’s invaluable for couples to each have their own friends, I also think it’s important to have “couple” friends. Other couples who you have good chemistry with and enjoy being around. The evening consisted of tons of food, several rounds of drinks and many, many stories.

Saturday Morning Laziness – Derek and laid around Saturday morning and basked in the glory of not having any immediate plans. In a world where everyone is overbooked – no plans is a luxury.  We decided breakfast was definitely in order and we invited Derek’s brother Gabe over to join us. Eggs, hash browns and bacon – delish.

Coffee in the Park – After breakfast, the three of us set out to the top of Queen Anne for a coffee at Peet’s and then Derek took us to Marshall Park. I had never been there – it was gorgeous. What a great day to sit out at the park!

Reading in the Sun – On Saturday afternoon when I opened my book, I was 17 pages into it. Now, I’m finished. I sat out on my balcony and read-away most of the weekend. To some of you, this might seem like a waste – but to me, it was perfect. I was reading Atonement by Ian McEwean. I liked it. I didn’t LOVE it, but I liked it.

All in all, I’d say this has been a pretty fantastic weekend. I hope everyone was able to get out and enjoy the sun.

2 Responses to “a few of my favorite things”


  1. 1 sara
    June 16, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    We had the best time with you and Derek. I talked about it with various people all weekend…what great food and company it was. We’ll have to do it again!! This time it will be our treat, but I’ll never be able to cook a meal like you two did. It was incredible.
    It was the perfect night – good food, good friends and hilarious stories. And of course, the highlight for me was seeing more pictures of Ronnie & Darryl. Doesn’t get much better than that. 🙂
    Thanks so much to you both.

  2. 2 Nate
    June 16, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    A great start to a weekend that felt longer than it was. When are you guys coming over?


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

