11
Jun
08

suggestions please

I’m looking to expand my weekday dinner routine. You know, the staple dinners. The dinners you make on week nights when you don’t have a ton of time or a ton of patience. My standard meals are getting a little old, and now that Derek is living here – I feel like I need to mix-it-up.

Please leave a comment and tell me what your staples are. Yes, I’m talking to you. As a reader, I usually ask nothing of you. I’m asking now, please leave a comment and tell me your weekday favorites. I’m going to have really hurt feelings if nobody comments – and then I’ll probably be embarrassed and want to pull down this post – but I won’t because I want my blog to be as uncensored as possible. See? Just leave a freakin’ comment.

11 Responses to “suggestions please”


  1. 1 headslammer
    June 11, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    Spaghetti. Nothing special. Just boil some noodles, heat up a jar of Ragu, maybe add some garlic salt to the sauce, maybe heat up a garlic bread in the oven (a frozen one), and voila! It takes about 20 minutes.
    One more suggestion is this noodle casserole thing. Boil up wide egg noodles and put them in a 13×9 pan. Add chopped up green pepper, onions, mushrooms, add a package of shredded cheese with a can of cream of mushroom soup. Mix this all up with the noodles in the pan and heat in oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. I add tobasco sauce for my own individual flavoring.

  2. 2 akentuckycreation
    June 11, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    Kindra, I saw your post on my tag surfers. I have a lot of recipes posted on my blog plus several months of menu plans. My cooking influence is Southern with some other interests. Hope you will take a look and I hope there is something there to help you with your dilema.

    Lee

    http://www.akentuckycreation.wordpress.com

  3. 3 Jenna
    June 11, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    I’ve got a ton of favorites – but here are a few of the ones that stand out:

    Orange Beef with Cilantro Rice
    Crockpot Stuffed Eggplant
    Chicken Salsa Enchiladas
    Fajitas
    Lettuce Wrapped Turkey Burgers w/homemade guacomole

    They aren’t glamorous but they are super tasty and super easy. If you want the recipes you can email me and I’d be happy to share! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the comment on my blog as well!

  4. 4 big mama
    June 12, 2008 at 5:41 am

    You know what my regulars are….you had to eat them once a week -remember how we ate stir fry contstantly! John makes tortilla soup fairly regular – it’s great for lunch at work too. Kristen used to eat top ramen – not sure you want to add that!! Jenna has quite the list of regulars!

  5. 5 Kristina
    June 12, 2008 at 7:03 am

    **Salmon (Broiled or BBQ’d) Caeser Salad makes a fairly regular appearance because it’s so quick.

    **Honey Mustard Chicken w/pesto pasta

    for the chicken: 4 chickens breasts, trimmed & cut in halves
    in a bowl mix 1 generous tbsp of dijon mustard with 1/2C honey, 2 tbsp cooking sherry & contents of one “Bag N Season” original chicken seasoning packet, whisk well. transfer chicken into roasting bag (provided by “Bag N Season”) along with marinade, Bake for 45min at 350.

    for the pesto pasta, 1 bag of rainbow/garden twirly pasta, 1 packet of Knorr creamy pesto. make pesto according to packet, toss with cooked pasta.

    **chicken or beef kebab w/greek salad

    **grilled beef medallions, pasta roni, grilled asparagus

    **Honey lime chicken fajitas
    marinade chicken (30 min) in 1/2C fresh lime juice, 1/3 cup honey, 2tbsp minced garlic, 1/2tsp cayenne pepper. Grill chicken, occasionally basting chicken with left over marinade.

    I serve the chicken in tortillas with mango corn salsa:
    (1 diced miced, 2tbsp chopped red onion, sheared kernels of 1 white corn, 2tbsp chopped cilantro, juice of 1/2 a lime)

    and/or

    salsa verde
    (toss vegetables in a little olive oil and broil for 15 min in casserole dish: 2 cloves garlic, 1 jalapeno diced, 1 chopped pablano pepper, 2 tomatillos, quarted. blend/puree vegetables in mixer and serve; add salt/pepper to taste)

    w/cabbage.

  6. 6 Fishstick
    June 12, 2008 at 7:36 am

    Tacos! Ground beef (or turkey), taco seasoning, lettuce, cheese salsa, sour cream. You can do burrito style, crispy taco style or put it over lots of lettuce and make a salad I usually add some tortilla chips to give it some crunch. The great thing about this is that you can make a ton of seasoned meet and have it for leftovers.

    Balsamic chicken. I could put balsamic vinegar on anything! I mix mustard (spicy/Dijon/honey/French’s, any kind you have) with some balsamic and let the chicken boobs marinate in them for awhile then just cook them on the stove. We usually do rice with this one.

  7. 7 Stacy
    June 13, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Just like big mama, stir fry is one of our staples. and so is spaghetti (not with sauce from a jar).
    Now we’ve added the buttery grilled chicken ala paula dean. Also tacos, french dip (in the winter), fish sandwiches with dill mayo, the tomato alfredo penne that I’m sure you’ve had at my house, pork loin marinated in the mesquite jack daniels marinade pouch (found at safeway). The cajun chicken sandwich with sour cream and diced chiles, enchiladas made from the roasted chicken at costco and finally, chicken katsu. MMM, I’m hungry

  8. 8 Dre
    June 13, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    I would give you some of our statples, but it appears stacy has already taken care of that.

  9. 9 sara
    June 14, 2008 at 8:16 am

    a box of lucky charms and a gallon of milk is always good too. πŸ™‚

  10. 10 Alec
    June 15, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Kindra, I like to consider myself a healthy eater and I too like to switch up what I eat on the weekdays. I am a student however and find it tough to afford luxury foods so I make do with what I have. My fridge mainly consists of condiments left over from past roommates. I come home from school to open the fridge to find it empty with the exception of flour tortillas. Out of nowhere I turn into Emeril Lagasse and take one(1) tortilla……carefully searching the fridge I reach for……. the butter, BAM!!! Spread about a half stick(1/2) butter on the tortilla and roll it up, place it in the microwave for about ten seconds and BAM!!! you have a delicious meal that will leave you full for hours. Just be careful to hold up the opposite end when you take a bite because the butter tends to drip in your lap. (Thats what all the stains around the crotch of my pants are from I swear) If you don’t have butter Pam non stick pan spray will do. Hold the tortilla out with your left hand and spray from 10-12 inches away.
    Now the last person I made this for just looked at it and didn’t eat it because he said he was allegic to butter or something. (could’ve told me that before I made it for you but whatevs) So if your allergic to butter this can also work with thousand island dressing or canned tomato paste. Enjoy!

    -Alec

  11. 11 sk
    June 15, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    My favorite staple meal may just be spaghetti made with tomato sauce and ground up Isernio’s Italian Chicken Sausage.

    A quick meal is a whole roast chicken from the store and rice with veggies. then you can use the left overs on a sandwich.

    Hmmm… as I try and write a list of staples, my mind is blank. Maybe I need to borrow your list!


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

