20
May
08

good-bye advertising

I am happy to announce that I will be starting a new and exciting job in June! In my effort not to talk about work on my blog, I won’t name the company, but I will share a few details.  The position is a complete departure from what I’ve been doing (advertising) and is focused on product management. I will be a Product Development Manager and will manage 25-30 products for a company in the travel industry.

I am VERY excited about this new role and about the change in industry. Advertising has felt meaningless to me for awhile now, and I’ve been struggling with how to change-it-up. Those of you who have worked in ad agencies before know the drill. The people are great and the culture is fun….BUT it’s really hard work – with a high burnout rate. You live and die by your clients (even if they are wrong) and you are in a constant state of feast or famine. Either you have too much work to do or the agency doesn’t have enough work and you are throwing yourself at every RFP that comes your way. I’ve been doing it for 4 years now, and I’m ready for a change.

I know the new gig won’t be perfect and it certainly won’t be easy. But I’m ready for a new challenge. Did I mention I’ll have an office on the 26th floor?!?! I’M SO EXCITED!

3 Responses to “good-bye advertising”


  1. 1 Jenna
    May 20, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Congratulations Kindra!! You are gonna rock whatever position you are in, it’s just how you are. 🙂 Great Job!!

  2. 2 sara
    May 22, 2008 at 7:11 am

    I am so excited for you!! They are lucky to have you. 🙂

  3. April 9, 2013 at 7:42 pm

    Aw, this was a very nice post. Finding the time and actual effort to create a superb article… but what can I say…
    I put things off a whole lot and don’t manage to get nearly anything done.


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

