15
Apr
08

don’t forget the compassion.

Today, I was extremely wrapped up in my own day and in my own life. I was engrossed in my “To do” list and angry about this weird swollen bump on my face. I was completely caught off guard when a friend emailed me out of nowhere and said, “Today, my sister would have turned 42.” Her sister is dead.

It broke my heart and seared me to my core. Here I am, stressing about my face and my workload and she’s just trying to get through the day without an emotional breakdown. It was an important lesson to me – you just don’t know what other people are dealing with day-to-day – a freshly broken heart or a dying parent. A nasty divorce. A battle against cancer. Another miscarriage or a recent layoff.

As you move through your day and interact with the people around you, just remember that you don’t always have the full story. Before you get frustrated with a grouchy sales clerk or a flakey friend – there could be more at play than you know. Don’t forget the compassion.

0 Responses to “don’t forget the compassion.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

