23
Mar
08

post-vacation blues

The posts were scarce last week – I know. Mentally it has been a rough week. I have a horrible case of the post vacation blues. Without a doubt, it’s the worst case I’ve ever had.

I’m sure you can relate. Our recent trip to Mexico was a serious eye opener for me. I don’t care what anyone says, Mexicans do not live a sub-par life. In fact, I’d say their quality of life is better than ours. They’ve got it good. They focus their attention on important things like family, friends and food!

This last week I’ve been totally distracted. I haven’t gone to the gym all week – I just can’t bring myself to go. My apartment is a disaster zone – the dishes are piling up. I’ve been eating horribly because the grocery store just seems ridiculous. My job is boring me because it seems trivial. And to top it all off, I’m sporting a bad attitude.

In general – I’ve lost my focus. No matter how hard I try, my thoughts drift back to Punta Mita. My body physically aches for the warm breeze and hot sun. I can practically taste the fresh seafood and tart margaritas. Most of all, I miss the simplistic life that Mexico represents. It’s a place where work wasn’t a primary focus of my life (monopolizing 9 hours of each day). It’s a place where I was able to be an attentive girl friend. A place where I could read to my heart’s content. A place without the stress of my daily life. I know those of you who know me are rolling your eyes right now and are thinking “Kindra, you bring unnecessary stress and anxiety on yourself. “ I know. But I can’t help it. Punta Mita helped me to escape all of that.

Soon, it’ll be just another vacation. My tan will fade. The sand-flea bites will disappear. And my body will forget the warmth of Mexico and will stop recoiling at the damp Seattle weather. At this point, I’m hoping it happens sooner than later. I’m not sure how much longer I can take this horrible case of post-vacation blues. Here’s to a new week.

5 Responses to “post-vacation blues”


  1. 1 bluewaveted
    March 23, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    i’ve had a bad case of those myself. i feel so sluggish and i don’t wanna go back to work. we can tell our bosses, its a contagious bug thats going around :p

    happy monday to you 🙂

  2. March 24, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Ohh I can relate, m’dear. Then again, it’s the ‘everyday-ness’ of our everyday life that makes such vacation so much more lovely, eh.

    Here’s to looking forward to the next break!

  3. 3 bullishmoves
    March 24, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    Tell me about it. I’ve thought of disappearing from my desk. It just wont happen because I wont let it. And what do you do when you’re stuck in this predicament, right?

    Hopes up, though.

  4. 4 Teresa
    November 24, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    Hi there!
    I happened across your blog when researching Punta Mita. It looks/sounds like you had an incredible time! I’m heading down there on Thursday (soooo excited!) & was hoping to ask for any unmentioned good, off-the-beaten path things to do or restaurant/bars to check out. San Pancho sounds perfect for me! If you get this & feel inclined, I’d much appreciate your suggestions. I currently live in San Francisco, but grew up in Bellevue 🙂 Thanks so much & have a lovely Thanksgiving!

  5. 5 kb
    November 25, 2008 at 8:57 am

    To Teresa:

    I am SO jealous! You will absolutely love it. We are headed back to Punta Mita in January and I can hardly wait!

    I think I pretty much covered all the highlights in my blog posts (I think there were five punta mita blog posts in total). San Pancho is amazing – check that out for sure. Also, there is a “restaurant” in Punta Mita called tres hermanas (it means three sisters) where they serve 50 cent tacos. That place is great! It’s literally three sisters cooking tacos out on their porch. I think they are only open after 8pm. I don’t remember the street names, but I’m sure if you ask around you can find it. There is a strip of restaraunts along the harbor, and while they have good food – it’s more expensive than you’d think. Personally, we really liked Margaritas. The food is great (ESPECIALLY their pico de gallo), they have live music and they are super accomodating. I’m not sure if you are into fishing, but we had a great time.

    Where are you staying? How long are you going for? You’ll have to be sure to email or comment on my blog when you get back so you can share your great finds!

    Have SO MUCH FUN – and be sure to email us when you get back!


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

