03
Mar
08

materialism – part two

Virtual argument tonight with Derek regarding my post from last night (which he claims was his favorite post yet). Here’s how it went down – this is copied from Gmail chat. Thoughts?

me: i bought a really cute tote/beach bag at target…

Derek: you bought it for yourself?]

you have that basket one

don’t you?

me: yeah, but i bought a new one

that wicker one is too hard to pack

Derek: don’t really practice what you preach do you?

(your blog yesterday)

me: what about it? 

are you saying i’m  materialistic because i bought a beach bag for $14 from target

Derek: you talked all about be ‘materialistic’ 

it’s not the price

me: yeah it is…it’s about having the best things 

Derek: i was just bringing it to your attention

not necessarily 

it doesn’t matter

i didn’t mean to offend you 

me: materialism: a desire for wealth and material possessions with little interest in ethical or spiritual matters

Derek: exactly 

me: you didn’t offend me, i’m telling you that you don’t know the meaning of materialism.

Derek: you clearly don’t

and you even copied and pasted it 

me: whatever – it’s not the same thing

i can’t believe you are saying i’m materialistic because i bought a beach bag/tote at target for $14

Derek: buying things that you already have, therefore don’t need, but think is cute is materialistic

sorry, but it is 

the $14 has nothing to do with it

I’m not fighting with you over IM

sorry I said anything

long pause 

Derek: hello?

me: yeah 

Derek: hi

me: be nice to me 

Derek: k

me: why would you say that? you obviously think i’m materialistic or else you wouldn’t have said it 

Derek: let’s not do this

I really don’t want to fight 

me: well you can’t say something like that and then not explain yourself or redeem yourself

i don’t want to fight either, but you hurt my feelings. 

Derek: I’m sorry bubba

can we cyber hug? 

(I’m hugging you)

Sorry 

didn’t mean to hurt your feelings

me: ok – i wish your cell phone didn’t fall in a toilet 

Derek: me too

me: i love you

 Derek: i love you

4 Responses to “materialism – part two”


  1. 1 AMS
    March 4, 2008 at 11:57 am

    In Kindra’s defense…

    She specifically said at the beginning of the conversation that the wicker bag she already had was too hard to pack. Therefore her desire for a new bag stemmed from a need for increased functionality in a beach bag, and not the materialistic desire for a new cute bag….but hell if you can kill two birds w/ one stone (functionality and appearance) and get a good deal at the same time… I’m all for it 🙂

    Love ya both, but Derek… if I were you, I wouldn’t be expecting Kindra to haul any of your stuff around in her new highly functional beach bag 🙂

  2. 2 Dave
    March 4, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    I think it must be a Coug thing, because I’ve dropped my phone in a toilet not once, but twice.

  3. 3 CJ WAL
    March 17, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    Wow this is epic

  4. 4 Luke
    July 31, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    Freaking awesome.

    I don’t know Derek, but I feel liek we’re super-bros.

    I once got in an epic fight because I said, “Dinner was good.”


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

