24
Feb
08

the sicko

Sorry for the infrequent posting last week – I’ve been feeling a little under the weather. I spent most of the weekend sniffling, sneezing and sleeping which doesn’t make for very exciting posts.

I should have known this was coming. Every year, there is a point in the cold/flu season when I stop feeling sympathetic for “the sicko” and start getting mad. I usually wake up the next day sick – which is what happened this time. It’s karma. 

In my defense, I’m never mad at the newly sick or the mildly sick. I get angry at the sicko.  You know who I’m talking about. There is a sicko in every office. If you haven’t identified yours yet, they aren’t hard to find. Just follow the sound of constant nose blowing and endless coughing. The sicko is the person who has been hacking and complaining about being sick for three weeks straight. They provide daily updates on the color of their phlegm and their rising fevers. Despite everyone’s advice, they are still coming to work and they still have not gone to the doctor. It’s like they want an award for working while sick – like they are so important and dedicated. 

I believe the sickos of the world enjoy being sick. They savor the sympathy. They relish the attention. And they thoroughly enjoy hashing out the details of their ailments.  They are too self-absorbed to realize that everyone else is totally grossed out. Please sicko, I beg you, go home. 

Now that I’ve written this post, karma is probably going to hit me with pneumonia or something horrible.  Oh well, it had to be said. 

3 Responses to “the sicko”


  1. 1 Halie
    February 25, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    I second that. No joke, just as I was reading this the “sicko” in my office walked by my door hacking away as usual. I find myself holding my breath when I am around that person. Seriously people, stay home and save us all. This is the #2 issue on my list of pet peeves.

  2. 2 Dave
    February 26, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    Word. Preach on.

  3. March 25, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    I work with a sicko- you took the words right out of my mouth. So gross how people love spreading disease. The gym is another common place to find the sicko. People trying to “work off” their cold. Ruins my day.


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

