12
Feb
08

dental update

As you may remember from yesterday’s post, I was having extreme anxiety about going to the dentist. Well, today I was brutally reminded why I don’t go to the dentist.  Here’s the short version of the story. 

Stats

  • Cavities: 1
  • Crowns needed: 1 (aren’t crowns for grandparents? Just hand me a cane too while you’re at it)
  • Hours for deep cleaning needed: 4 (need to schedule that appt – fun)
  • Braces Needed: Yes (but not likely going to happen anytime soon – boo, hiss, snarl)
  • Baby Teeth Remaining: 5
  • Extra teeth in mouth: 1
  • Wisdom Teeth: Nope (never had ‘em.  I swear. They called me “especially evolved”)
  • Plaque condition: Good
  • Gum condition: Fair

Highlights

  • Nitrous Oxide (overall, it’s pretty decent stuff)
  • The staff was friendly
  • The hygienist actually described himself as “smokin’ hot”.  Hilarious.

Lowlights

  • Nausea that followed the appt – probably from the nitrous oxide
  • The staff reassuring me that I am a freak and a modern medical miracle. 
  • The really fun and detailed dental plan that they put together for me – complete with a budget.  As if my parents didn’t spend enough freaking money on my teeth, now I have to too. Awesome. Effing awesome. 
5 Responses to “dental update”


  1. 1 Gabe-to-the-Real
    February 13, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Jee-ZAZ. I’d get a Sonicare asap before all the teeth inyour head rot out!

  2. 2 Gretchen
    February 13, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    I too, put off going to the dentist – not becuase of anxiety, but gecuase I am so flippin’ busy!!!! finally – I got a toothache (I had never had one) and thought I was going to die. I now know why the Nazi’s would use a dental drill for torture. I went to the dentist to find out that my last dentist did a hack job on my tooth which was why it was INFECTED at the root (the fetcher – he is the worst and rudest dentist which is why I quit going…) Due to my detal absence, I had a tooth pulled on Monday and just had a nice root canal today… But gladly – I am no worse for the wear and I will be attending dental appts on a regular basis – I still have children to send to college!

  3. 3 egb63
    February 15, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    Ok, it was 15 years before I went back. I’m glad you went back sooner than I did. I just had some more cavities filled today – and I feel absolutely wiped out. If your dentist gives you the opportunity to watch a movie while he does the major work – do it.

  4. 4 Shelby King
    February 16, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    That’s not that bad! You could have had WAY more cavities and other major issues. You can thank your mom and dad for your good dental genes. 🙂

  5. July 27, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    This website was… how do I say it? Relevant!

    ! Finally I’ve found something that helped me. Appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

