11
Feb
08

dental anxiety

I am ashamed to say that it has been a little over five years since I’ve been to the dentist. I’m not really sure where those five years went and I have no excuse for not going. But now that it’s been so long, I’m really nervous about going.

I suspect that my dental issues are deep rooted. As a child, I had mangled teeth. I’m talking ugly, crooked, buck teeth. As if that wasn’t torture enough, I had a severe overbite. I suffered through five years of orthodontics during which my mouth housed every possible dental contraption known to mankind: braces, retainers, spacers, head gear (2 different kinds), rubber bands, etc. I had one retainer that I still remember vivdly – it was called a Bionator. I know, it sounds like a weapon of mass destruction. It clamped my upper and lower jaw together at all times, so I had to learn how to talk without opening my mouth. Not very much fun for a 4th grader. One dentist actually turned my mouth into a case study to discuss and ponder at his weekly dental meetings. I think he thought this would make me happy, but instead I recoiled in disgust.

In 9th grade, they finally removed my braces and I cried all day. Of course I was happy to get them off, but I felt like I was losing a part of myself. Without them, I looked different and my teeth felt slimy.

I’m sure tomorrow will be fine (I’m hoping they can give me nitrous oxide to curb my anxiety). I know I need to break my dental boycott before all of my teeth fall out. I fully suspect that I have a mouthful of cavities. They will marvel at my five remaining baby teeth and doubt me when I tell them I’ve never had wisdom teeth. I hope my kids get my husband’s teeth.

8 Responses to “dental anxiety”


  1. 1 saracoledaum
    February 12, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    hey snaggletooth. i want to hear about the dental adventure. 😉

  2. 2 Shelby King
    February 12, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    hee hee. I have total dental anxiety too! I just remind them each time I am there so they explain everything and are really gentle. I get sweaty palms just from a cleaning! I think it is all the high pitched squealing machinery they use and the fact that they poke your gums with sharp instruments. Good Luck and you’ll be fine! 🙂

  3. 3 Mary B
    February 13, 2008 at 10:55 am

    I laughed so hard reading this. I was having a little bit of deja vu- maybe I didn’t have to have my teeth clamped together as a kid (you poor thing!) but I was the “case of the month” at an orthodonture convention because I’m MISSING so many teeth. Like 4 molars? Not there. 4/5 years of braces and head gear and now my retainers don’t fit so my teeth are slowly going crooked again. I have got your back on the dental problems, girl.

  4. 4 kb
    February 13, 2008 at 11:29 am

    From Kindra: Suddenly I don’t feel so alone. Thanks Mary B! 🙂

  5. September 20, 2014 at 3:39 pm

    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the knowledge you present here and can’t wait
    to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your
    blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G ..
    Anyhow, great site!


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

