21
Jan
08

buy local

I’m sure you’ve heard all of the talk and debate about how far our food travels, buying locally and supporting local farmers. I won’t pretend to be an expert, because I’m not. But I went to Pike Place Market on Sunday and purchased everything that I possibly could for our dinner that night. The market was bustling with tourists and locals alike.  Everyone was marveling at the vibrant produce and fresh seafood. I left with a bag full of groceries and a smile on my face.

While I don’t have the time or the money to ‘buy local” everyday, it was delicious and made me appreciate our dinner even more. This summer, I hope to check out the local Farmers Markets in Ballard, Fremont and Magnolia.   

Derek took a few pictures while we were there.

produce

5 Responses to “buy local”


  1. January 22, 2008 at 9:28 am

    There’s a market in West Seattle on Sundays also… and they’re going year round. They have great produce, flowers, and live plants… and usually music!

  2. 2 Aunt Janae
    January 22, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    Great pictures Derek. I was there on Friday and wished I had taken pictures. I would like to paint one of these for you kindra. Which one would you like?

    P. S. Derek if you read this you were suppose to help me with my Starbucks mug collection. Did you forget?

    Love Aunt Janae

  3. 3 kb
    January 22, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    From Kindra: Aunt Janae, I would LOVE it if you painted me a picture! You pick whichever one you feel most inspired by.

  4. 4 Kara
    January 24, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    I love Pike Place! We’ll have to go there the next time I’m in town 🙂 Don’t they have samples? (Kind of like Costco!) hehe

  5. 5 Kathryn
    January 25, 2008 at 10:58 am

    hippie.

    just kidding.

    i buy local as best i can. but we all knew i was a hippie at heart.


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

