14
Jan
08

all in an apple pie

One of my favorite (and most embarrassing) rituals after a long night of drinking is a trip to McDonald’s for chicken nuggies.  Despite my hundreds of attempts to forgo the nuggies, I always end up there – usually in a cab.  I know it’s gross and I wouldn’t do it sober, but I can’t stay away from the nuggies when I’ve been drinking. It’s pretty standard for me to start thinking about and anticipating the nuggies around midnight.

Saturday, after a long night of drinking in Ballard, I found myself sitting in the drive-thru with my friend and sister.  We ordered and were anxiously awaiting our nuggies while we recapped the highlights of the night.  When we pulled up to the window, they handed us our food and informed us that the car in front of us had treated us to apple pies. Nuggies and apple pies – SCORE! We didn’t know the car in front of us, in fact we didn’t even notice what color it was. It was such an unexpected surprise. If you are out there reading this post, thank you for the pies; they were delicious.

The next day I started thinking about it more.  We should have bought pies for the car behind us. At the time I was too excited and too tipsy; it didn’t even occur to me.  I’ve been feeling badly about it and the only way to redeem myself is to pay it forward to an unsuspecting Seattleite. Stay tuned!

1 Response to “all in an apple pie”


  1. 1 saracoledaum
    February 7, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    i’m going to start calling you “little nuggie.”


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

