13
Jan
08

blame it on the rain

I have been particularly affected by the winter gloom lately. Last week was miserable. It was rainy, cold, windy and dark. Puddles, drizzle, sweaters and red noses followed me everywhere. On top of this, Derek returned to school and I’ve been feeling incredibly lonesome for him.  Double whammy.

Every year I fall into the same trap. I expect winter to be over after the holidays.  It’s a trick.  For those of you who are familiar with Seattle weather, you know that this will last well into April. It’s not the rain that bothers me; it’s the lack of sunlight.  Between the short days and the constant cloud cover, Seattleites can go weeks without seeing the sun.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the Pacific Northwest and I’m fully aware that all of this rain feeds the lush, fresh, clean city that I adore.  So, I understand it’s for a good cause.  And in the end, it all works out because Seattle has beautiful summers. Do you think we would appreciate them as much if we didn’t endure nine months of gloom and gray? If we didn’t EARN them?

But I digress, back to this week. The weather and darkness really had me down in the dumps.  I wanted to cave-out in my apartment, curled up with a blanket all week (which is fine to do occasionally, but probably not advisable for four months). Just when I had given up all hope, Seattle redeemed herself.  Today (Sunday) was so gorgeous. The sky was blue, the sun was bright, and the air was crisp.  Finally!

My advice for getting through the rest of the winter: 1) Appreciate and make the most of the days when we have sun.  2) Try to remember that summer WILL return, it always does. 3) And lastly, be sure to schedule a vacation somewhere warm in February or March – trust me. 

6 Responses to “blame it on the rain”


  1. 1 sarahwjones
    January 14, 2008 at 11:44 am

    PS… I LOVE Milli Vanilli. I went as Milli Vanilli for Halloween in middle school… it was an awesome day until the after-school dance where I was doing my spot-on impression of their “Girl You Know It’s True” dance moves and my wig fell off. After a full day, the wig hair was pretty bad and I was mortified. Serves me right for idolizing impostors!

  2. 2 Derek Reeves
    January 15, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    “…Seattle redeemed herself.” Seattle is a chick? I’m not sure about that. The phallic architecture seems to say otherwise. The Smith tower started it off in 1914. The Space Needle, a major icon of Seattle reinforced this trend in 1962 (I think this structure is what coined the term “needle-dick”) The BIGGEST building in Seattle, the Columbia Tower, came through in 1985 (I don’t think it’s any coincidence the building is black). The Seattle Municipal Tower came along in 1990 and is noted to have extremely phallic shape. Even the cranes along the water at the Port of Seattle support this. Oh, and lastly the city was named after Chief Seattle. He did have long hair and a cute face, but it still was a dude just as his city is. Just my opinions…

    Great bloggin, I enjoy reading these! Keep it up!

  3. 3 Stacy
    January 21, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    It was sunny yesterday! Did you go for a walk or at least get out and enjoy it? Although I was dizzy and tired, I was glad to see that I brought the sun with me. And those gorgeous Olympics on the way into the office this morning! I agree with you — I don’t mind the chilly weather as long as it looks bright and sunny out. Can’t wait for the sun to greet me when I wake up in the morning. Looks like it will be right around leap-day when I’ll see daylight upon waking. http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/astronomy.html?n=234&month=2&year=2008&obj=sun&afl=-11&day=1

  4. 4 saracoledaum
    February 7, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    We had a few beautiful days of weather that week. I haven’t seen the Olympics look that pristine for awhile. It was amazing. Days like this make me remember why I love it here. But I’m with you about our winters…they are doom and gloom. I went to Kauai to escape it and wtf….it was more rainy there.
    PS – Derek is……too funny. His comments about the Columbia Tower…lovely.


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

