09
Jan
08

let’s get physical

Derek recently stumbled across a website that tells you the #1 song in the US on the day you were born. FUN, right? Derek entered his birthday and his #1 was “Eye of the Tiger” by Survivor. I immediately start reading into this; it makes perfect sense. Those of you who know Derek know he’s a go-getter, he’s slightly competitive, he’s upbeat and has a lot of energy. It’s perfect.

 

At this point, I can hardly wait to hear what my #1 is. I’m certain it will be a legendary song. A song that people will appreciate for generations. A song that will provide insight and meaning into my personality. A song that shaped the person I am today.

 

Boy, was I wrong. My song was “Physical” by Olivia Newton-John. I have to admit, I was really disappointed (nothing personal Olivia). What could this possibly infer about my personality? Lame. But, being the optimist that I am, I checked to see my #1 the day I turned 18 – maybe this would be more representative of me. After all, turning 18 is the beginning of adulthood. This #1 was bound to be better.

 

Nope, wrong again. “Baby one more time” by Britney Spears. Lame. Lame. Lame. At this point, I’m over it. Clearly Derek just lucked out. Then I started thinking about the similarities between the two songs. Both songs are centered around men. The lyrics plead with men to give them what they need. They are obsessive and slightly neurotic. This isn’t me! And then it dawned on me. Britney Spears is my age. Sure enough, her #1 was “Physical” too. I guess it does work – just not for me.

1 Response to “let’s get physical”


  1. 1 saracoledaum
    February 6, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    I was obsessed with “Let’s Get Physical” when I was a kid…about age 4. I used to sing it loudly in the hot tub!


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

