02
Jan
08

reckless resolutions

There has been a lot of recent blogging about New Year’s resolutions and personally I think they’ve been getting a lot of bad publicity. What’s with all of the cynicism? Yes, there are a lot of people out there who make resolutions that they don’t intend to keep.  Their eyes are bigger than their stomachs.  I agree that it’s annoying and frustrating to listen to someone year after year vowing to lose weight, save money, be a better person, etc. when you know they won’t put forth the effort to make it a reality. You know the type; we all do. In fact, you might even be one.  I call them reckless resolutioners.  These people give resolutions a bad reputation.

At the heart of New Year’s resolutions are good intentions to become a better you. Who wouldn’t want that? Personally, I prefer to make “goals” rather than “resolutions.” (Maybe it’s just semantics, but those reckless resolutioners have tainted the word in my mind too).  I’ve always been goal oriented and I like having something to work towards. Below are my 2008 goals. 

– Start blogging (2-3x per week)

– Experiment with new recipes (at least 2 new recipes per month)

– Continue going to the gym (3x per week or more)

– Finish book proposal by the end of March

– Pay off my car loan by the end of April

– Go to the dentist

Although I’m no expert, I would like to offer a few suggestions to the reckless resolutioners out there.  1) I have found that measurable and actionable goals work best for me. For example “I will lose weight in 2008” is a bad resolution.  How do you measure that? Instead, put a realistic number to it. “I will go to the gym 3x per week”. This is much better.  2) Be realistic; don’t set yourself up for failure.  Initially it might feel good to set lofty resolutions, but you will feel worse when you can’t follow through.  3) Write them down and post them where you can see them daily.  This will remind you to make them a priority.

At the end of the day, this is your life.  It’s your prerogative to you make yourself feel fulfilled and satisfied. You can either sit back and wait for life to happen to you, or you can steer your life in the direction you choose.  If you choose to sit back and wait, you waive your right to complain about your life.  

Happy New Year!   

4 Responses to “reckless resolutions”


  1. 1 John
    January 6, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    I like resolutions too. Did you coin the term “reckless resolutioners?” It would be a good book title. Thanks for tips on how to set them!


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

