06
Nov
08

tuba man.

If you have ever been to a Seattle sporting event, you have probably walked by Tuba Man. The name pretty much says it all -he was a street musician who unfailingly played the tuba outside the stadiums.  He wore quirky hats and played a wide array of songs. He has been around as long as I can remember and I just found out that he is dead. Apparently he was badly beaten by a gang of teenagers in a robbery and later died from the inflicted head injuries.

I am completely shocked and deeply saddened by this act of violence. It is people like tuba man that make-up the unique and original culture of Seattle. Honestly, I’m not even sure what to say…

This is a sad loss for Seattle – rest in peace tuba man. Seattle will miss you.

tubaman

3 Responses to “tuba man.”


  1. 1 Derek
    November 7, 2008 at 9:11 am

    When I was young there would be couple times a year my dad would treat my brothers and I to a Mariners game at the Kingdome. This guy was part of the experience of going to a game. I remember my my dad handing me the change out of his pocket and kneeling down to tell me a song request – I’d drop the coins in his cup and tell him what to play. It was one of the highlights of going to the games.

    Up until this news, I still got enjoyment from seeing him out there playing his instrument. Every time I walked by him I couldn’t help but to think how long this guy has been doing this and that he has become a part of the fans game day experience.

    As you mentioned, it’s people like Edward McMichael that shape Seattle’s character. This is a big loss for the city of Seattle. His absence won’t go unnoticed at the games I attend down there – that’s for sure.

    As for the kids that did this…maybe you should open another post and take feedback on what the consequences should be.

  2. November 7, 2008 at 11:00 am

    This makes me sick… My heart is broken over the loss of someone I didn’t even know. Win or lose I always left Mariners games with a smile on my face after passing the joyful tuba player. What a loss for the people of Seattle.

  3. 3 Mary B
    November 8, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    I am so upset right now. I can’t believe he won’t be out there on the corner across from FX McRory’s after Mariners games because a group of a-holes wanted a few bucks. How sad. What a horrible story. Worst year ever for Seattle sports indeed.


Leave a Reply

a blog for anyone, but mostly for me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

